Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
It's a Shame About Ray cover art

It's a Shame About Ray

By: Jonathan Seidler
Narrated by: David Seidler
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $20.87

Buy Now for $20.87

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

It's a Shame About Ray is an extraordinary and powerful memoir about family, love and the power of music.

A young man coming to terms with bipolar disorder suddenly loses his father to suicide. This seismic event prompts an exploration of his family's suppressed history of ill mental health, primarily among men, from the rubble of post-war Europe to present-day Australia. Gliding between the narrator's boyhood, adulthood and impending fatherhood, It's a Shame About Ray lasers in on the family left behind and their response to this ongoing challenge in light of their culture, religion and community.

In the vein of Patricia Lockwood, Dave Eggers, Chuck Klosterman and David Sedaris, It's a Shame About Ray is an extraordinary memoir from writer Jonathan Seidler (yes, those Seidlers). It's an unflinching memoir about men, masculinity and mental health. Filtered through Y2K popular culture, it's a blackly funny and often devastating look at the lasting impact of suicide on families and the complex relationships between sons and fathers suffering from the same illness.

©2022 Jonathan Seidler (P)2022 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about It's a Shame About Ray

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tragic at all levels

There are no answers in this book, but I think that’s the point. A heartfelt tribute to the failures of conventional success and the long term consequences of intergenerational trauma, not to mention stigma and shame.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intimate and achingly poignant

There’s something very frank and familiar about the authors way of painting a vivid and personal picture of a story that is at once highly relatable and deeply moving. I think it would not do the book justice to say that I enjoyed it, because my experience as the recipient of the story seems trite in comparison to the profound meaning and resonance of a work with such palpable catharsis for the author. As a debut it is very impressive, and I’m eagerly awaiting the author’s next book. 10/10

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully tender and unusually honest.

What a writer! Yes a sad story of loss but so much more than that…the dedicated poem at the end was a perfect finalé.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly moving

Such a beautifully written and moving account of a family and man’s journey through mental illness.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Honest

Very hard to follow Jonathan’s beautifully crafted words …..
An intimate exploration and explanation of a brilliant life and shock of sudden death
Nothing mediocre here
Hope warmth and humanity abounds 🙏

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.