Get Your Free Audiobook

Into the Fire

Narrated by: Scott Brick
Series: Orphan X (Evan Smoak), Book 5
Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (162 ratings)

Non-member price: $39.50

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin, the gripping Sunday Times best seller from the best-selling author of Out of the Dark and Orphan X.

Once a government assassin codenamed Orphan X, Evan Smoak works as a vigilante for the desperate. Now he's ready to retire.

Then he gets a call.

Max Merriweather's cousin has been murdered, and the woman he needs to find is missing. On the run and stalked by an assassin, Max calls the one person who could save him: Evan Smoak.

But the forces ranged against Evan and Max are as lethal as Evan has ever faced. Keeping Max alive will be hard. Staying alive himself might be impossible.... 

Packed with edge-of-your-seat suspense, explosive action and razor-sharp plotting, Into the Fire is for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

Read by Audie Award winning narrator Scott Brick.

©2020 Gregg Hurwitz (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Outstanding in every way." (Lee Child)

"Weapons-grade thriller writing." (Guardian)

"A masterpiece." (Daily Mail)

More from the same

What listeners say about Into the Fire

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much action, I could not stop listening

In my humble opinion, this is one of the best Orphan X novels to date. There is more twists and action than ever before. If you only read/listen to one book this year, I implore you that it is Into The Fire.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not terrible but utterly predictable

I wasn’t cringing all the way through this, it’s not badly written and it’s not a terrible story (as far as the paint by numbers action story goes). It’s just utterly predictable the whole way though. An American book for an American audience, with plenty of gun worship, empty platitudes, and absolutely no surprises. B-

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Evan Smoak

This series really got me in, I like Evan better than Court Gentry (Grey Man) I’m not keen on the would be whiny girlfriend, but her offspring is a good character, she’s easy to ignore and there’s so much more to like in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Best one so far

Loved it, finished in one sitting, thrilling from start to finish. Reader is also great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just kept getting better

Fantastic action, great storytelling and the story itself just keeps taking you in. Really worth a read!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GREAT SERIES

I couldn't put it down, hopefully there will be another book soonish the series soon.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love these Orphan X books

Just another brilliantly written book from Gregg Hurwitz! This was so suspenseful and full or twists and turns!! I really hope there’s more!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book!

I've only recently discovered Orphan X and Gregg Hurwitz. loved the story, the characters and booked me in pretty quick. highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Orphan X eXit

reveting from the start, I could not stop listening but did not want to reach the end.... I hope this is not the last we hear from Orphan X... I think this is my favourite story of the series, perhaps Joey will fill the shoes!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MJB
  • 04-03-2020

Brilliant!

Once again the Orphan X series delivers! Please don't let it be the last one!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James
  • James
  • 22-02-2020

another great story by Hurwitz

spolier alert this one does finally kill the nowhere man. the is no coming back from all the injuries and challenges. for once,our protagonist isn't Superman. this was an awesome conclusion to a fantastic run. I can't wait for the spinoff of these series new that the biggest limiting plot love he has been resolved. I enjoyed this unpredictable book I am sad it's over but glad there is a clear spinoff. sorry if I gave too much away.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angel~Cake
  • Angel~Cake
  • 18-04-2020

Gripping

This book keeps you hanging on right to the end, a white knuckled rollercoaster of ups and downs. One problem being solved and another created. Surely this will be all too much for our rugged Hero. I noticed as the books went on, Evan getting a bit less robotic and more human. His interactions with Mia and the other residents while still awkward and comical, seem to be becoming more tolerable to him. This book, like the others does not disappoint. Although I missed Candy, I'd grown fond of her and her kick ass attitude. Scott Brick reads the characters very well and I am so glad he did all the books. I shall miss his voice in bed at night. 😂 if this were Ebay I'd be giving it an A++++++ while also wondering how many bodies Gregg Hurwitz has burried under his patio.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V. O'Regan
  • V. O'Regan
  • 22-02-2020

High action thriller

This was my second Orphan X novel and it certainly ticked all the boxes for a high octane action thriller from start to finish. After the final chapter I feel like I need a lie down to catch my breath!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard P Brocklehurst
  • Richard P Brocklehurst
  • 11-10-2020

Great

brilliant book, enjoyed every minute. Jason Bourne has nothing on Evan Smoake. looking forward to next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-10-2020

Brilliant listen

I love all the Orphan X books, they make long car journeys feel like nothing. Totally gripping books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SusieT
  • SusieT
  • 20-09-2020

Easy read, you know what to expect from Orphan X

As always, well plotted, great characters. A fun to read, roller-coaster of a story. Ever tougher obstacles for Orphan X to surmount.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-09-2020

brilliant as usual

cant wait for the next one , i hope the series runs on for many years to come, i actually enjoy these books over films and tv!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob
  • Bob
  • 31-08-2020

As always a decent story well performed

Scott Brick does his usual excellent performance. Faultless. Humour is provided by Sidekick Joey and her computerise speech. Action is pretty relentless and I was engrossed all the way thtough. Mild Spoiler! Although I enjoyed this tale of corruption and murder I did wonder if the Orphan X stories might be coming to an end. Evan's enemies are entirely manageable by the ex agent with hidden resources. So the author has handicapped him with a severe concussion. This used to happen to comic book heroes when they ran out of challenges.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BM
  • BM
  • 20-08-2020

Another great story

I was hoping there wouldn’t be an element of disappointment in a fifth Orphan X story. Could the same level of entertainment be reached as the previous books? Well, yes it could and yes it was. Another edge of seat thrilling ride.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dan
  • Dan
  • 05-08-2020

Awesome

Another great book from Gregg hurwitz absolutely amazing in every way can't wait for the next one. going back to the start. #Nexttime

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-07-2020

Orphan X – the nowhere man

The whole series gripping so true to life well thought out tremendous. After Orphan x the next in the series you just couldn’t wait to get your hands on it recommended thank you.