Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $39.50

Buy Now for $39.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin, the gripping Sunday Times best seller from the best-selling author of Out of the Dark and Orphan X.

Once a government assassin codenamed Orphan X, Evan Smoak works as a vigilante for the desperate. Now he's ready to retire.

Then he gets a call.

Max Merriweather's cousin has been murdered, and the woman he needs to find is missing. On the run and stalked by an assassin, Max calls the one person who could save him: Evan Smoak.

But the forces ranged against Evan and Max are as lethal as Evan has ever faced. Keeping Max alive will be hard. Staying alive himself might be impossible.... 

Packed with edge-of-your-seat suspense, explosive action and razor-sharp plotting, Into the Fire is for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

Read by Audie Award winning narrator Scott Brick.

©2020 Gregg Hurwitz (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Outstanding in every way." (Lee Child)

"Weapons-grade thriller writing." (Guardian)

"A masterpiece." (Daily Mail)

More from the same

What listeners say about Into the Fire

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    169
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much action, I could not stop listening

In my humble opinion, this is one of the best Orphan X novels to date. There is more twists and action than ever before. If you only read/listen to one book this year, I implore you that it is Into The Fire.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

definitely worth reading

Brilliant narrator, well crafted story. Loved it. this story was an engaging combination of tender and tough.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoying the no where man series

the narration is excellent. the stories of this series are enjoyable. looking forward to listening to the next installment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jaw clenching thrill ride

Loved this book. was so stressed listening that my jaw started aching. could not stop listening

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved all the books

I just love Evan Smoake... the detail is just incredible. it was intense and heartbreaking. I cannot wait for the next book !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another awesome book, can't wait for the next one

loved it, so many layers, another awesome book in the series, can't wait for the next one

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not terrible but utterly predictable

I wasn’t cringing all the way through this, it’s not badly written and it’s not a terrible story (as far as the paint by numbers action story goes). It’s just utterly predictable the whole way though. An American book for an American audience, with plenty of gun worship, empty platitudes, and absolutely no surprises. B-

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Evan Smoak

This series really got me in, I like Evan better than Court Gentry (Grey Man)
I’m not keen on the would be whiny girlfriend, but her offspring is a good character, she’s easy to ignore and there’s so much more to like in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Best one so far

Loved it, finished in one sitting, thrilling from start to finish.
Reader is also great.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just kept getting better

Fantastic action, great storytelling and the story itself just keeps taking you in. Really worth a read!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacqui Streicher
  • Jacqui Streicher
  • 20-11-2020

Into the Fire

Loved this book! Great series. What a wonderful writer and Scott Brick’s voice is wonderful. Can’t wait for the release of Prodigal Son next year.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 22-02-2020

another great story by Hurwitz

spolier alert
this one does finally kill the nowhere man. the is no coming back from all the injuries and challenges.
for once,our protagonist isn't Superman. this was an awesome conclusion to a fantastic run.
I can't wait for the spinoff of these series new that the biggest limiting plot love he has been resolved.
I enjoyed this unpredictable book I am sad it's over but glad there is a clear spinoff.
sorry if I gave too much away.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angel~Cake
  • Angel~Cake
  • 18-04-2020

Gripping

This book keeps you hanging on right to the end, a white knuckled rollercoaster of ups and downs. One problem being solved and another created. Surely this will be all too much for our rugged Hero.
I noticed as the books went on, Evan getting a bit less robotic and more human. His interactions with Mia and the other residents while still awkward and comical, seem to be becoming more tolerable to him.
This book, like the others does not disappoint. Although I missed Candy, I'd grown fond of her and her kick ass attitude.
Scott Brick reads the characters very well and I am so glad he did all the books. I shall miss his voice in bed at night. 😂
if this were Ebay I'd be giving it an A++++++ while also wondering how many bodies Gregg Hurwitz has burried under his patio.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Skegg
  • Skegg
  • 23-02-2020

Another excellent Orphan X story

This one is Evan getting back to his core business, getting a client and helping him out. Predictably, this gets more complex than he hoped....

I look forward to a Nowhere Man book every year, if you liked the previous books, you will enjoy this one!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 29-02-2020

A Terrible Pleasure

I love these books and Into the Fire is astounding. I found myself, at times, almost unable to read on; Orphan X can only be described as a terrible pleasure. What draws me to this world are the heroes, the women are strong and independent - real characters who make this series into much more than the average humdrum thrillers churned out to a low standard. And Evan is fascinating; all villains are equal in his eyes regardless of skin colour or nationality - there's no easy/lazy racism or sexism.

The writing is wonderful, the research seamlessly incorporated.

Highly recommended. Also, the next book promises a huge shift in tone - I can't wait.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V. O'Regan
  • V. O'Regan
  • 22-02-2020

High action thriller

This was my second Orphan X novel and it certainly ticked all the boxes for a high octane action thriller from start to finish. After the final chapter I feel like I need a lie down to catch my breath!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David Powers
  • David Powers
  • 10-09-2021

Not the best

The last 2 hours were good but somehow up to then wasn’t the best Orphan X.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob Roy
  • Rob Roy
  • 30-08-2021

Relentlessly enthralling outing for Orphan X

I am not sure what caused my delay in reading this fifth episode of the Orphan X series but it was distinct lack of judgement on my part. 'Into the Fire' is a seriously good thriller in the "disavowed clandestine operator doing good deeds while staying anonymous " genre. Orphan X is Victor the Assassin with a heart. In this episode X embarks on his quest to aid troubled Max in his efforts to escape death, only to encounter layer upon layer of conspiracy and more and more unsavoury characters out to do them harm. Meanwhile alongside concussion, X is acquiring the capacity to care deeply about a number of people in his life. I will now go in search of the next book ..and audiobook! Fans of Tom Wood, Mark Dawson, David Baldacci, Alan McDermott et al will enjoy the Orphan X series.
Whoops -just realised I missed out the fourth book in the series - not that it mattered, it seems, enjoyment or, apparently, continuity wise; back to read 'Out of the dark' before onwards to 'Prodigal son' !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-05-2021

totally immersing.

the combination of a first class tale with the voice of Scott Brick is the equivalent of a verbal page turner - i couldn't switch this off - beware :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TanjaK
  • TanjaK
  • 05-05-2021

As good as ever.

I never get tired of X. Another roller coaster ride.
If you want to escape this series of books will take you on a heart stopping ride.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ken
  • Ken
  • 15-02-2021

so poorly narrated

I read books 1-3 and loved them. I've given up on this 4 chapters in, the narration was that poor

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • 31-01-2021

Orphan X goes on

Having eliminated the risk to himself from his origins as an orphan Evan is freed to contemplate retirement. He decides that the next case will be the last. When contacted by a client who's brother had entrusted him with a vague task to protect himself. Then been brutally murdered. Evan finds what appears to be a basic money laundering scheme, runs very deep. His life and job intersect causing confusion and conflict threatening everything he has.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.