Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A murder tears a small town apart. But who did it?

The pretty market town of Sterndale is a close-knit community where everyone thinks they know everyone else. But at a lavish summer wedding, a local celebrity is discovered slumped in the gardens, the victim of a violent assault that leads to a murder investigation. 

As the police search for answers, suspicion and paranoia build and the lives of the locals are turned upside down. Secrets that lurk beneath the pristine façade of Sterndale come to light as detectives close in on the truth.

A gripping and moving thriller with the emotional drama of series like Broadchurch and Liar, this is the perfect listen for fans of Cara Hunter, Heidi Perks and Claire Douglas.

©2020 Erin Kinsley (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Innocent

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David M
  • David M
  • 16-07-2020

Police Procedural

An indifferent story, not well written. No emotion, no empathy with any of the characters, no twists and turns. Just a police investigation; questioning witnesses, following leads, then finally convicting somebody.

The audible summary covers everything if you take out the hyperbole: A TV celebrity (Tristrin Heart) goes to a local wedding and somebody hits him over the head with a champagne bottle in a remote area of the hotel grounds, fatally wounding him. Police are called. This is after we've listened to a couple of hours of introducing characters, (about 60 in all), and a lot of minutia - much of it unnecessary and doesn't add value to the story.

To be fair, we do hear in depth about the victim's wife and daughter (Isobel and Flora), also the Ridley family with whom they are close. They all do a little investigation of their own, mainly around whether Tristrin has been faithful to his wife, but don't share this information with the police.

In all, I think a good writer could have made more of the story. It definitely didn't come over to me as a "gripping and moving thriller with emotional drama". It's just a police procedural. Lucy Paterson as narrator did her best to breathe life into it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Amanda Hann
  • Mrs. Amanda Hann
  • 15-09-2020

Innocent

Not what you think 🤔
I enjoyed the twists and turns the assumptions and the truth worth the credit

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa evans
  • Teresa evans
  • 28-02-2021

Innocent

A nice story line I listened it wasn't drawn out. Narration was good worth a try.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 23-02-2021

Sad

It wasn’t what I was expecting, I was confused by the authors name! Initially I found the narrator a little monosyllabic during the narrative sections. But I’m glad I persevered.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Geraldine Bradley
  • Geraldine Bradley
  • 10-02-2021

innocent

the narrative was good the story was ok could have been more thrilling in places

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise Bush
  • Louise Bush
  • 25-07-2020

Good Story

Well written, and interesting characters, but the actual plot revelation is absolutely unbelievable which is a shame.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.