Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Kevin Hearne comes the start of a hugely entertaining new series set in the world of the Iron Druid Chronicles - about an eccentric master of magic solving an uncanny mystery in Scotland....

Al MacBharrais is both blessed and cursed. He is blessed with an extraordinary white moustache, an appreciation for craft cocktails - and a most unique magical talent. He can cast spells with magically enchanted ink, and he uses his gifts to protect our world from rogue minions of various pantheons, especially the Fae. 

But he is also cursed. Anyone who hears his voice will begin to feel an inexplicable hatred for Al, so he can only communicate through the written word or speech apps. And his apprentices keep dying in peculiar freak accidents. As his personal life crumbles around him, he devotes his life to his work, all the while trying to crack the secret of his curse. 

But when his latest apprentice, Gordie, turns up dead in his Glasgow flat, Al discovers evidence that Gordie was living a secret life of crime. Now Al is forced to play detective - while avoiding actual detectives who are wondering why death seems to always follow Al. Investigating his apprentice's death will take him through Scotland's magical underworld and he'll need the help of a mischievous hobgoblin if he's to survive. 

Packed to the brim with mystery, magic and mayhem, Ink & Sigil is perfect for fans of Rivers of London and Rotherweird. 

©2020 Kevin Hearne (P)2020 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"Will transport you right in the Scottish realm of fey and fairies.... The magic is both familiar and new, believable and extraordinary." (Charlie Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician)

"Vividly blends Kevin Hearne's unique take on urban fantasy with the grit of Scottish magic." (Adam Christopher, author of Empire State)

"Ink & Sigil is filled to the brim with the Hearne-anigans we've all grown to love. Fans of ribald humor, literary puns and the odd hobgoblin will be enchanted by this paranormal mystery." (Jaye Wells, author of the Prospero's War series)

What listeners say about Ink & Sigil

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Loved it. Loved the accents. Made me laugh out loud at times. Great author with amazing stories.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book. Not the best narrator choice

I normally like Luke Daniels as a narrator and in his earlier work with Kevin Hearne. But his Scottish accents really are not strong and given this book is set in Scotland with mostly native characters I'd prefer to hear an actual Scottish actor reading. But if you put aside expectations of authenticity, Daniel's is able to convey this new jaunty tale.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glasgow one more tune
  • Glasgow one more tune
  • 02-09-2020

Terrible accents

I found this almost unlistenable.

Not the story, that's Hearne's delightful mixture of fantasy and modern world realistic, with engaging characters.

And not the plot. which gallops along with entertaining people and, erm, not-people to get to know.

But the audio book is narrated with a teeth-grindingly dismal attempt at a Scottish accent. Like a cross between Daniels' own 'Owen Kennedy' and Mike Meyers' Scottish characters in Austin Powers. With a random and inconsistent collection of vowel replacements thrown in.

Almost every sentence has a mangled word, pronounced in a way that nobody in Scotland would use. At one point I had to stop and replay a word 'Dow - ur'...before I worked out it meant 'door'

Which is strange; the written book uses Scottish words really well, adding colour and personality to the characters, the book mainly uses them in quoted speech though. The audiobook uses them for the first person narrator, and not just a rolled 'r' or a touch of glottal stop. No, there is random and relentless vowel replacements, which bounces around from Ireland, to Newfoundland, to Liverpool, to Newcastle, not to mention the near kaleidoscopic Scottish accents. Edinburgh, Aberdeen, The Highlands... Hardly ever Glasgow though.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. P. Mellor
  • S. P. Mellor
  • 04-01-2021

An Insult To The Scottish Accent - Dissapponted!

I hate doing this because Luke Daniels is a narrator I very much admire and Kevin Hearne a writer who I want to hear much more from... but...

I couldn’t get more than 2 minutes into this before the appalling Scotish accent grated on me so much I had to turn it off.

It’s not an easy accent and I have given people a pass before. In this case, it’s the voice of the narrator and its unlistenable.

What’s most disappointing is that there are tones of great Scottish actors who could have done this with an authentic accent.

I know the author puts a lot of care into his research. It would be nice if the same care had been put into choosing a voice.

This is not really a reflection on Luke Daniels, who is excellent reading many of the things I’ve heard him read. At some point, however, somebody should have stepped in here.

The quality of this book is not up to the standards I expect from Audible, the narrator or the author.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lynno
  • lynno
  • 03-10-2020

My ears are bleeding.

I have no idea if this story is good or not as the reader's accent is the most awful Scottish accent I have ever heard. So much so that it distracts away from what is actually being said. Like a cross between Mel Gibson in brave heart mixed in with a bit of Cornish and a bit of Welsh accent. I actually couldn't listen past chapter one as it was making me feel nauseous, such a shame as I was looking forward to this story. Whoever thought this passed as ANY Scottish accent nevermind a Glaswegian one needs to go get their ears checked.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 16-02-2021

Why would you not get a Scottish narrator?

Luke daniels is generally a solid voice actor but the man cannot do a Scottish accent and the book is set in Glasgow with a Scottish protagonist.
My ears! They cried!
Honestly couldn't tell you if the story is good or not. Could not make it past the five min mark.
Seriously, that accent hit East London, India and the Middle of the Atlantic in the first three minutes.
When he hits his stride he manages to sound like Groundskeeper Willy for two, maybe three sentences and then it just veers off to some new locale.
All they had to do was hire a Scot!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jan munro
  • jan munro
  • 18-11-2020

Excellent story with terrible accents.

The accents are so terrible it was compulsive listening. Great story though. I was fully engaged in it. I want more!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for golden thunder fist
  • golden thunder fist
  • 17-11-2020

Well written story but terrible narration

Well written story by Kevin, interesting new characters, new magic systems and a welcome return to the Iron Druid realm.

However, the audio narration was possible the worst I have ever endured. Let’s preface by saying that I am a huge fan of Luke Daniels, I’ve listened to pretty much everything he’s ever narrated. This one, however, was a real struggle.

If you have a story set in Scotland, with Scottish main characters, you should employ a Scottish narrator, or at least an Irish/English one who can perform the accent. I actually think Luke Daniels should apologise to Scotland for this performance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elise Ciappara
  • Elise Ciappara
  • 27-09-2020

Shocking accent

Loved the story and Kevin hearne never disappoints but man the accent is teareabibleq if I was to try and write it by the way he says the word! 🤣
I kept thinking I would get used to it but no, next book will have to be read only I’m afraid

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy
  • Wendy
  • 09-06-2021

That's not Scottish!

Did nobody check if the narrator can do a Scottish accent? Forced myself to listen to a few chapters in the hope it got better, nope. Returning this one, will get the kindle version instead as the premise of the story seems really good.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pauline
  • Pauline
  • 01-06-2021

Ink & Sigil by Kevin Hearne

Wow, I never even managed chapter one I’ve tried to listen several times but it’s just too painful. I have been looking forward to another Kevin Hearne classic but instead I got a mixture of Scottish accents that various dialects would bring tears to any true Scot. The accent would vary from Scottish, Eastern European, English and West Midlands all in one sentence even before we got to the text talk.
So sad I now have to add this to my audio library as the first I’ve not managed to complete. Maybe I may get the chance to read it myself one day? I’m sure the book it’s a true Hearne success but sorry it’s a big thumbs down to the Narrator when he is trying to do a Scottish accent. Maybe he needs to try a little less and it might work better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for nathan
  • nathan
  • 02-10-2020

amazing

a great new story set in the iron druid universe. hopefully its the first of many following the sigil agents.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.