Get Your Free Audiobook

Imaginary Friend

Narrated by: Christine Lakin
Length: 24 hrs and 32 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Kate Reese is a single mother fleeing an abusive relationship by starting over in a new town, with her young son, Christopher. But Mill Grove, Pennsylvania, is not the safe place they thought it would be....

Their world begins to unravel after Christopher vanishes into the Mission Street Woods - where 50 years earlier an eerily similar disappearance occurred. When he emerges six days later, unharmed but not unchanged, he brings with him a secret: a voice only he can hear and a warning of tragedy to come.

What follows is a moving, thrilling, chilling modern masterpiece on a par with the very best of Stephen King....

©2019 Stephen Chbosky (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A struggle

Struggled through this book, it often became very repetitive, slow and drawn out. Took a very long time to get into the story

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Way too long

Could have been 10 hours shorter. Felt like I was trapped in Groundhog Day. Stick with Stephen King

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

WTF?

This story started out promising but soon descended rapidly into a disturbing melange of gratuitous violence, long-winded metaphors with suspicious and poorly constructed religious undertones. 50 chapters too long.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DVL
  • DVL
  • 15-10-2019

Stephen King lite

It needed a bettter editor, it could have been cut in half and it would have been ok.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for daniel
  • daniel
  • 10-02-2020

Stephen King lite!

I liked it a lot. But it could have been a little shorter. Bu I still recommend it!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexandra.F
  • Alexandra.F
  • 13-10-2019

Fantastic unexpected find!

This book had no reviews when I came across it (usually I take this as a bad sign...) but I took a chance and downloaded it anyway and I'm so glad I did! For fans of Paul Tremblay, C J Tudor and Stephen King- this book will be right up your street.
The story begins subtly and builds to an epic battle between good and evil on a par with 'The Stand'. The group of kids have all the tradirional tropes of a Stephen King rag tag team, and the flawless characterisation totally absorbs the listener into their world. This isn't an action or adventure thriller and there are some truly scary horror story moments (plenty, especially during the parts about the hissing lady, who is not to be taken at face value!). It's insidious and cloying, almost impossible to stop listening in one long sitting. Don't listen at night! For those in search of a good horror (but not a cheesy or poorly written one- see James Herbert for that...), 10/10, take a chance like I did and you won't be disappointed!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-10-2019

Could have been 5 stars

This book could easily have been 5 stars if had ended sooner and not repeated itself. I genuinely was spooked from the beginning and there was much hope of what was to come. Unfortunately towards the latter half it was just Groundhog Day.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wretched_heart
  • Wretched_heart
  • 15-10-2019

What a book!

This book is one of the best audiobook I have listened to.
I can’t wait for the authors next book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ciara
  • ciara
  • 02-02-2020

Very disappointing

struggled to finish, started out good but just got board, not at all scary for a horror fan.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 29-01-2020

Narrated well but that’s all.

Painfully repetitive and incoherent story. Narrator was the only positive but didn’t stop it being a test of Will to finish. Avoid.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-01-2020

Too long and convoluted

The narration was superb let's get that out of the way. The story started off very strong and was genuinely creepy and foreboding until about the half way point. The second half to third of the book just felt like a constant build to a climax which never came. It built you up and then slapped another tedious plot twist in your face. I got so tired by the 125th chapter I just wanted it to end. Also this book is based on Christian beliefs and religion. I do wish religious books would be advertised as such. I appreciate when mythology is used in clever ways but here it just felt childish and ruined the original unsettling tone of the story. What started off as dark and disturbing became wearisome and honestly a bit silly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-01-2020

BRILLIANT!!

Absolutely loved this book. Totally recommend! You won't be disappointed. The narrative was fantastic too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sabine
  • Sabine
  • 04-01-2020

loved it

As a huge Stephen King fan I am always looking for those extra lengthy horror novels that take it nice and slow.

This one ticks every box. The main characters are well written and you get them to know so well that you feel they are friends or family. The setting in a small town reveals all the everyday horror in peoples minds and thats exactly where the fight between good and evil takes place.

This book is not for people who enjoy a fast paced story though but everyone who enjoyed Stephen Kings "The Stand" will love it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jo
  • Jo
  • 26-11-2019

Amazing!

Wasn’t sure about this but went with it due to the previous reviews! I wasn’t disappointed. I was hooked right from the start and it has just the right amount of creepy bordering on scary to keep you going! I can definitely see this as a tv series!
Definitely worth the credit, will be trying others by this author now.

1 person found this helpful