Get Your Free Audiobook

Her Husband's Mistake

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
4 out of 5 stars (185 ratings)

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure....

The riveting new novel from number one best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher. 

When Roxy comes home unexpectedly one day to give her husband, Dave, a lovely surprise, it's Roxy who gets shock of her life. And all she wants to do is run away. 

Roxy knows she has to face up to what's happened and decide: forgive and forget, or bring an end to a decade-long marriage. Surely the right thing is to get over it - that's what Dave thinks. After all, it's just one mistake....

But Roxy finds it's not so simple. Especially when another secret starts to emerge. Her friends and family all know what they'd do - but they're not Roxy....

©2019 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Very well narrated and easy to listen to. great book. now want to find another one just as good

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely loved this book

I absolutely loved this book. Sheila has a way of making all the characters so believable and real and the narrator is one of my favourites. I hate it when a good story ends :-(

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable, but for me, missing the wow factor

I'm not a big fan of novels written in first person. Perhaps that's influenced my overall thoughts about the story. I kept waiting for the part that would hook me in but for me, it never came. Added to that, it felt a bit like the conclusion wrapped up issues that had taken 11 hours to develop, in a 15 minute sprint to the end.

Overall, engaging enough that you keep listening but not so much that you can't put it down, or feel if you didn't know how the story continued, you'd be wishing you did.

Aoife McMahon is wonderful, as ever, with her narration, full of expression and interest as she reads.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy Listening, great Narration.

Firstly - THIS HUSBAND WAS INFURIATING!
Secondly - What an easy listen! Initially I felt it was a bit slow but I really eased into the story and enjoyed it thoroughly. The narration by Aoife was FANTASTIC. She did all characters brilliantly without being annoying trying to take on numerous roles. I will definitely go for books with her narration again. This is my first Sheila O’Flanagan book but I am a big Marian Keyes and Maeve Binchey fan so this seems the perfect fit for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyed it!

I struggled with Dave and I was frustrated by Roxy's patience with him. I loved Roxy's mother. Great characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Fun NOT Romance Novel

I really like the narrator, Aoife McMahon. She’s lively and I believe she could be the main character. Fun read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Great story and wonderful narration. Story of a woman choosing her own path. A semi love interest, balance if family life and dealing with her husband’s infidelity 💜

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jen
  • 16-01-2020

Great narrator, shame about the story...

Well narrated but not a particularly deep read. Won’t bother with anything else by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

classic O"Flanagan

classic O"Flanagan, never disappoints
Really comes alive in audio format. would highly recommend this fiction novel

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best narrator ever!

Aoife McMahon is wonderful as usual. She brings every story to life and is the key to an enjoyable book for me.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 04-06-2019

Her Husband's Mistake

Her Husband's Mistake. Really struggling with this book. I pre ordered it as I like most of Sheila O'Flanagans books.
I cannot get past the first couple of chapters. I just find it depressing so far

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joan
  • joan
  • 25-07-2019

Easy read

Well performed but average storyline. You can put this on, take a nap and when you wake up, you haven’t missed anything. Ok if you want a predictable non complicated story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Collene Suyan Anderson
  • Collene Suyan Anderson
  • 24-07-2019

MUST READ

This book is a must read.... Especially for those married couples who've been through divorce or going through it... dealing with cheating wives or husbands. It sets ALOT of perspective and clear some parts o felt like cussing her out but that's only because the book keeps you so drawn into it as if you were living the life in her shoes.... loved it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ktbyrd
  • ktbyrd
  • 04-06-2019

Women Driver has it all

Driving the car and being good at it, is just one challenge to convention in this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 04-09-2019

A bit of an anti climax!

This book started off really well and I had high hopes for the rest of it, but it dragged on a bit and some parts were just meaningless. For example when her husband Dave and their daughter got ill, I thought,"where is this leading? .......it led nowhere!! It was pointless. Her husband was a vile man, a chauvinistic prat and so unlikable. I enjoyed the tales involving her driving and the little side stories about her clients, but I really thought that things would get a bit more interesting and exciting towards the end, but that didn't happen. I enjoyed listening to the book, but in the end it was just a nothing!
The narrator was great and I loved her Irish accents. She was very good at changing her tone and accent slightly for the different characters.
Overall, I enjoyed the 'listen' but it could have had a better ending.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 03-06-2019

Pleasant, but too long!

This is a pleasant story, with well drawn, engaging characters. It’s a simple (predictable) tale though and does not merit over 11 hours. It would truly benefit from the writing being more concise. It would be better if cut by, maybe a third! Aoife McMahon’s narration is soothing and faultless as usual.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crusherthedrummer
  • Crusherthedrummer
  • 04-10-2019

captivating storyline

A beautifully concieved and crafted story written with depth and detail. Extraordinarily well performed bringing that wonderfully crafted storyline vividly into being. exciting, thrilling and enthralling, my only critique is it ended. completely addictive.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 03-03-2020

Enjoyable but too much man bashing.

As above, there were continual references to women’s struggles in life and that men are generally lacking.
Fair enough to mention it but it was flogged to death and became tedious.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for "jen_ros19"
  • "jen_ros19"
  • 23-11-2019

lovely book

this was a great listen and an easy one. good woman Roxy. finding her own way

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 14-10-2019

Brilliant

Loved reading this book, kept me on my toes. Could happen in your life maybe

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aine Cronin
  • Aine Cronin
  • 21-09-2019

one of the best books for 2019

loved it it was really hard to switch off I felt like I was missing out on the book if I wasn't listening

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for laura elizabeth stinton
  • laura elizabeth stinton
  • 13-08-2019

Disappointing

Story never got going, waiting for something to happen but it never did! Narrator ok

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Breda Williams
  • Breda Williams
  • 22-07-2019

typical easy going book

story is ok. some parts are obvious and predictable but a rom com type book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judith Lennon
  • Judith Lennon
  • 09-07-2019

Good story throughout

I loved this book from beginning to end. Normal people trying to get from life what makes them happy whilst balancing life’s challenges. Highly recommend.