Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $21.86

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Three Women and Everything I Know About Love comes a refreshingly original memoir about self-discovery, loneliness and love. A guarded young lawyer reluctantly joins a psychotherapy group where she has to share her innermost thoughts with six complete strangers. In turn she finds human connection and herself.

'What’s going to happen to me when I start group?'

'All of your secrets are going to come out.'

Christie Tate has just been named the top student in her law school class and seems to finally have got her eating disorder under control. So why is she driving through Chicago fantasising about her own death?

Desperate, she joins Dr Rosen’s psychotherapy group, and through his unconventional methods, he challenges everything she thought she knew, about herself and others. In group, secrets are not allowed. This means telling a group of strangers everything - about her struggle with bulimia, her failed sex life, her overwhelming sense of loneliness and acute longing for a relationship. And as she keeps sharing her thoughts and feelings and listens to the others doing the same, her life slowly begins to change.

This is a deliciously compelling listen and an intimate journey through the daring, exhilarating, painful and hilarious journey that is group therapy - a process that breaks you down and then reassembles you so that all the pieces finally fit.

©2020 Christie Tate (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic Reviews

"This unrestrained memoir is a transporting experience and...most startlingly hopeful.... It will make you want to get better, whatever better means for you." (Lisa Taddeo, New York Times best-selling author of Three Women)

"This book will remind you how to come back to yourself even when you want to give up, make you laugh, make you cry, help you breathe. This book will save lives." (Lidia Yuknavitch) 

"Real transformation is not for the faint of heart.... Christie Tate captures her evolution in all its misery and hilarity, along with the beauty of bearing witness to one another as we grow." (Sarah Hepola)  

What listeners say about Group

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartwrenchingly Relatable

A wonderful story filled with honesty and relatable lows. Thank you to the author for sharing this with us.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible! selfish! Boring!

This is a terrible, selfish and boring book that details explicit sexual relationships but fails to explore how the therapy sessions helped her. Actually she never improves or works on herself. Don’t insult your intelligence with this memoir. The narrator was boring! And it’s Christie Tate herself.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 03-01-2021

Thoroughly enjoyed!

Brutally honest account of the importance of self reflection and awareness to lead a happy and fulfilling life.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-12-2020

Good, if you find it relatable to your own life.

I enjoyed this book. I have to say that throughout the book I found myself wondering if the group therapy was a thing of fiction as have never heard of therapy like it before, so it wasn't always easy for me to understand BUT I enjoyed the candidness of the auther and did find myself relating and feeling her pain.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-11-2020

Read this!

This is such an important and inspiring book - everyone should read it. Thank you Christie!!!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.