Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Green Dot cover art

Green Dot

By: Madeleine Gray
Narrated by: Sasha Simon
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $23.94

Buy Now for $23.94

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Hera Stephen is clawing through her mid-twenties, working as an underpaid comment moderator in an overly air-conditioned newsroom by day and kicking around Sydney with her two best friends by night. Instead of money or stability, she has so far accrued one ex-girlfriend, several hundred hangovers, and a dog-eared novel collection. While everyone around her seems to have slipped effortlessly into adulthood, Hera has spent the years since school caught between feeling that she is purposefully rejecting traditional markers of success to forge a life of her own and wondering if she's actually just being left behind. Then she meets Arthur, an older, married colleague. Intoxicated by the promise of ordinary happiness he represents, Hera falls headlong into a workplace romance that everyone, including her, knows is doomed to fail.

Green Dot is witty, profound and painfully relatable in its exploration of solitude, desire, and the allure of chasing something that promises nothing. It is a must-hear for fans of Meg Mason, Sally Rooney and Dolly Alderton.

‘I felt so much joy reading this utterly assured writing. Green Dot is written with such poise, such confidence, I could not look away. I was mesmerised by its sheer brilliance.' JESSIE TU, author of A Lonely Girl is a Dangerous Thing

‘I wolfed Green Dot down over two nights. An incredibly funny book about a woman having an affair that's a really bad idea. Every sentence sparkles' CAITLIN MORAN, author of How to Be a Woman

'I am obsessed with this book. I am obsessed with Hera, with her dad, her friends, her dog. I am obsessed with how funny she is, and how hopeful and dark and tender and bleak the world is through her eyes. Green Dot is a book about love, and how stupid and funny and absolutely beautiful life can be. I would read it forever if I could.' LAURA MCPHEE-BROWNE, author of Cherry Beach

‘Brilliant. Riveting. Sharp. Funny. Dark. I want to give Green Dot all the adjectives but will content myself with saying it is one of the best books you will read all year' ELIZABETH DAY, host and author of How to Fail

‘If you liked Fleabag you will enjoy Green Dot, an Australian debut about whimsical twenty-something Hera, who falls for an unsuitable man' PANDORA SYKES, author of How Do We Know We're Doing it Right?

‘Laugh-out-loud funny and beautifully, brutally relatable—Green Dot is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.' EWA RAMSEY, author of The Morbids

‘Incredibly funny and a bit too real. This debut novel captures the zeitgeist.' BRIGID DELANEY, author of Reasons Not to Worry and Wellmania

‘Just brilliant. Hilarious and sexy but so wise about the human heart, too. Witty as Fleabag, psychologically insightful as Sally Rooney—everyone will be talking about Green Dot' LUCIE WHITEHOUSE, author of Keep You Close

'A gripping read that's smart, funny and highly relatable' LIBBY PAGE, author of The Lido

©2023 Madeleine Gray (P)2023 Allen & Unwin

What listeners say about Green Dot

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny, engaging, witty, amazing

highly recommend this read. enjoyed it right from the start. great pace that keeps you going right through.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Incredibly well written but with terrible characters.

The author is a genius with words and characterisation, and I kept listening because of this and because she made a mundane, awful story with very unlikeable characters compelling enough that I wanted to know what happened. I’d listen to /read another of her books but this one conflicted me as I continued to listen but could not stand the main character with her self absorption, entitlement, performative ennui and lack of maturity. Again perhaps that is the gift of the writer to write characters that inspire such emotion.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I finished the book but it was predictable the whole way. What you expect to happen does. Hera and Arthur are awful characters, both of them! Jude the dog is more likeable.

Was an ok read. I wanted to see if the ending was any different to what I imagined.

3/5 for me!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

This is a story that my gosh gets me hooked back into reading. I have picked up some “new” books and struggled to continue/enjoy.
This is just delightful escapism. What a pleasure it was!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listen.

Slow start with the background of Hera and Dad, good listen. Great debut novel. For a full review listen to the shameless podcast book review

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating story with a great narrator

Loved the idea for this book and I found the writing incredibly moving and real. The narrator added to the image I have of Hera. I loved the sharp writing and witty banter throughout the book which helped to balance the more serious themes. I enjoyed this immensely and could not stop listening!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 27-12-2023

So relatable

Not in the sense that I can relate as a mistress but as a female in her late 50’s. Pretty remarkable that this writer can capture a generation much older than the characters in the book but the themes are universal.

An excellent narrator also.

I highly recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amy
  • 27-12-2023

Detailed love affair - manipulative & narcissistic  characters

Great writing style. Detailed flow of events and very interesting character development & profiles. Can easily see how Hera & Arthur are dysfunctional in their own ways. Their affair is something keeps you guessing how it will end.
The very ending is a bit different but quirky with what I imagine was also “green dot” on a canvass.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Contemporary novel about the hell of love in your 20’s….

Loved this book, couldn’t wait to listen every day. Main character likeable but such a pain in the ass. Great narration also. Just unsure about the relevance of main characters Mum in this story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written, interesting read.

Very well written book.
You go on a journey of liking and disliking the main character - which is intriguing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.