Get Your Free Audiobook

Full Moon Rising

Riley Jenson, Guardian, Book 1
Narrated by: Justine Eyre
Series: Riley Jenson, Guardian, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $55.63

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A rare hybrid of vampire and werewolf, Riley Jenson and her twin brother, Rhoan, work for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races, an organization created to police the supernatural races, and protect humans from their depredations. While Rhoan is an exalted guardian, a.k.a. assassin, Riley is merely an office worker, until her brother goes missing on one of his missions. The timing couldn't be worse. More werewolf than vampire, Riley is vulnerable to the moon heat, the weeklong period before the full moon, when her need to mate becomes all-consuming.

Luckily Riley has two willing partners to satisfy her every need. But she will have to control her urges if she's going to find her brother. Easier said than done as the city pulses with frenzied desire, and Riley is confronted with a very powerful, and delectably naked, vamp who raises her temperature like never before.

In matters carnal, Riley has met her match. But in matters criminal, she must follow her instincts not only to find her brother but to stop an unholy harvest. For someone is doing some shifty cloning in an attempt to produce the ultimate warrior, by tapping into the genome of nonhumans like Rhoan. Now Riley knows just how dangerous the world is for her kind, and just how much it needs her.

Bite into another Riley Jenson novel.
©2006 Keri Arthur (P)2006 Books on Tape

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Anita Blake and Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse vampire series will be rewarded." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 05-02-2009

Enjoyed this entire series!

This is just the first book in this series. You have to actually read the other 5 or 6, but I find them very enjoyable. I like the premise and the heroine does not do lots of stupid stuff like so many of the paranormal romance/urban fantasy women. Yes, there is a lot of sex, most of it casual, but it becomes a part of the lore of the werewolf in this mythology. I do wish Audible (and for that matter others, like Amazon), would indicate if there is explicit sex. I like to read/hear it in my stories, but if someone is going to be with you in the car, a head's up would be nice. I usually read the reviews to see if sex is mentioned by reviewers. Of course, those are the ones I like - a good story with good sex. Full Moon Rising fills that bill.

I like the narrator also. This series takes place in Australia and her voice is perfect for the lead character.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E. Atkinson
  • E. Atkinson
  • 04-06-2009

Good plot, excessive sexual references

The story line was interesting and engaging but I honestly kept being distracted by the constant sexual references. I am not sexually prudish nor puritainical but the random, "I am a wolf and the Moon makes me horny" references didn't really add much to the plot nor to character development, they just seemed to be thrown in to make the story "spicy." Totally unnecessary and actually distracting from what was a good storyline. It was almost as if the pages of a werewolf/vampire story were randomly mixed in with a cheesy romance novel. Only the use of the words turgid flesh were missing.
So again Good plot, just ignore the constant sexual references, I would NOT recommend this to pre-teens or any one who is easily offended by sex.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelley
  • Kelley
  • 29-03-2007

Should come with Xanax

Dear Audible Friend, I really want you to think twice about buying this book and then keep thinking as long as it takes to decide against it. It has to be the single most FRUSTRating book ever recorded. Because there was a fraction of a sliver of a chance the author would somehow redeem herself with a good ending I had to listen to the bitter end - and there wasn't one! She just set up her next book and said "stay tuned". I honestly had to take a sedative to sleep because I was so unbelievably angry.
Thanks for letting me vent - now to be more helpful. There is a laborious (evil people making mutant clones) plot that the author labors and labors over and still manages not to resolve. Irritating but nowhere NEAR as bad as what she does to the romance. She creates a truly fabulous male lead ( I was madly in love with him) who is tragically wasted on a woman who is genetically incapable of fidelity and all but indifferent to love. Sex in this book is a 'call of nature' and it has all the appeal of any 'call of nature' you can name. And so she has unemotional sneezy orgasms with unpleasant men while the romantic hero waits in the car. Needless to say, this relationship goes the way of the plot- nowhere. I wanted to scream and chuck my IPOD out the window.
It's horrible - stay far far away.

27 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maryanne
  • Maryanne
  • 27-11-2007

Boring and boring

Did I say boring? And every paragraph or two we got to hear how horny werewolves are. This book should not be compared to Charlaine Harris or the Anita Blake series. Sex scenes too often too long and too boring. I think I said boring, just wanted to drag this review on the way book drags on. You can substitute boring for horny and get the gist of the book. Wish someone had said this book was too boring to be a harlequin romance and I never would have bought it. I don't like Romance books

12 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erin
  • Erin
  • 17-12-2007

Just too much

Lately, I've been into the vampire/werewolf thing and I have been enjoying it, so, I thought that I would give this series a try. It was a waste for me. Though the idea of the story in the book was interesting, I just couldn't bring myself to get into the multiple 'mate' thing. Maybe I'm getting too old for that idea, or, maybe I'm just a prude. Don't get me wrong, I love hot sex scenes, but, I usually like them when it's 'love' and with building up to a 'life mate' thing. Not, this one today and that one tomorrow, or later on tonight. It had me too confused!! So, if you're not into the several different partner thing and like a more 'old fashioned' love story, this one isn't for you. It wasn't for me..................even wolves mate for life, without all this preamble.

28 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yvonne
  • Yvonne
  • 06-02-2006

Anita Blake fans don't miss this one!

If you love paranormal romance and you are an Anita Blake fan, you'll love this one. Finally a vampire to match Jean Claude!

16 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Tiponya
  • S. Tiponya
  • 18-08-2008

Don't try to compare....

Honestly, I got this selection some time ago and liked it very much. Enough so that I keep checking for more from the author. But since it wasn't the best or worst I ever read I didn't review it. With all the recent bad reviews tho I felt compelled to correct my lapse. Like I said, this is a very good book. But don't try to compare it to Southern Vampire, Anita Blake, or other similar series. The author has taken a fresh look at vampires and weres and like many other recent entries in the genre done a fair amount of... shall we say 'pick and choose' with the 'rules' that govern these creatures. No, it is not a selection that will rivet you to the headphones but I don't think it should be passed by either.

One item of note. Many of the other reviews hammer on the sex scenes in this book. They are there, and they are (fortunately or not) becoming a standard for the genre. However unlike recent Anita Blake novels (which I also enjoy) they do not overwhelm and consume 50%+ of the book. If you don't care for this primal aspect I suggest you look to another genre.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Camille
  • Camille
  • 15-10-2007

Yuck!

The book dragged from the beggining. The lead female character had such an uninterested way about her. I tried getting through the book by speeding up the reading on my ipod, hoping it would pick up at some time. That never happened. Not only was the story bad, the sex scenes were ridiculous. I've read better sex scenes in romance novels! There are MUCH better SCI/FAN books out there. Read them instead!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Flynn
  • S. Flynn
  • 30-07-2018

not for me

this was difficult to get into. the plot was boring and was going no where before I abandoned it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25-06-2018

not my audible cup of tea

storyline is good narration leaves an odd taste in the mouth. not sure if it's the higher tone of voice or the accent that makes this a hard listen. ended up just reading the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful