Get Your Free Audiobook

Friend of the Family

Narrated by: Deryn Edwards
Length: 10 hrs and 25 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the Sunday Times best-selling author of The Pool House, this dark and twisty thriller is perfect for fans of BBC's The Replacement, The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances and The Hand That Rocks the Cradle.

You trust your friend, so you'd trust her daughter. Wouldn't you...? 

When an old university friend gets in touch with a request for work experience for her daughter, magazine editor Amy agrees. Twenty-year-old Josie walks into Amy's office, moves into the basement of her Notting Hill house and is soon helping out with her children after Amy's nanny is hit by a car. It seems the natural thing, therefore, for Amy to invite Josie on the family's annual trip to Provence.

When a series of things start to go wrong in their luxurious villa, Amy begins to suspect that Josie isn't quite the friendly presence she appears. But when no one, not even her husband, believes her, she realises she will have to play Josie at her own game in order to expose her true intentions....

Don't miss this gripping, addictive listen. You'll never see a houseguest in the same way again....

©2018 Tasmina Perry (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Friend of the Family

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Passion for Podencos
  • Passion for Podencos
  • 25-11-2018

Glamorous, Intelligent, Intriguing, unusual!

I really enjoyed this unusual thriller with a plot that I did not come close to guessing - and although it did require a modicum of suspension of disbelief it was not so wildly far fetched that it spoiled the book In fact it finished strongly and did not disappoint. I loved the insight into the editorship of a glossy fashion magazine and the juggling that requires when that editor is a mum and wife to a successful man. But dreary domestic drama it was NOT! For off to the south of France we went along with loads of colourful characters and to plenty of events and parties - then to fashion week in New York. I thought it was very well crafted and I liked the characters and the then and now structure which gave us an insight into Oxford student life and of course the fabulous balls and fashion worn to them. I think this book would be a lovely one to take on holidays as it is a relaxing, uplifting, indulgent read with plenty of drama and twists but nothing grisly, gritty or depressing. Deryn Edwards did a very engaging, polished, professional and intelligent read as usual and she is fast becoming one of my favourite narrators though she did get tripped up with the pronunciation of Chi-chi and Anais Anais but otherwise flawless. This book held my attention over the few days it took me to read it and I was kept entertained solidly the whole way though. Not sure if I actually liked any of the characters too much but they were very interesting and believable. Good solid 4 stars with extra marks for insight into the publishing world and its struggle to remain current and relevant in a world of online media and news ....plus the lovely trip to the South of France, New York and some luxury houses! I will look for more books by this author for sure and just a lovely, luscious read.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-01-2019

Great story

Loved this book, great story that didn’t go where expected or typical Was gripped with all the characters Recommend for a lightweight fun listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Carolan
  • Helen Carolan
  • 14-10-2018

Another great listen

brilliant. Tasmina Perry at her usual best! Read well with great feeling 😁 Roll on next year's book

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for san2har
  • san2har
  • 24-08-2018

Superficial world of fashion

Dreadful, superficial characters even the children. I did quite enjoy the book which was well narrated but was secretly hoping that everything would come crashing down for Amy. But it didn’t in the end. Juliet”S revenge really was completely far fetched and Josie and Karen were we’re almost caricatures.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AnnieJuly
  • AnnieJuly
  • 06-07-2019

Utter “thriller by numbers”

Predictable, corny, boring with utterly two dimensional characters. This was off the peg stuff in every way. Character especially poorly drawn. Working class woman on the make sheds skin and starts acting like an upper middle class diva, abandoning her awful pikey friend from home, who is portrayed as thick as a plank with the worst accent by narrator. Public school circle of braying, “pnaw pnaw, I say old boy” men and snobbish ladies who lunch women. Oh, and that SO new and edgy theme that everything is not as it seems! Move along : there are better painting by numbers stories available.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MrsMonroe
  • MrsMonroe
  • 18-03-2019

Well that’s 10 hrs I’ll nevet get back!

😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴😴 If anything had actually happened (in the way of excitement or suspense) in this book I’d of rated it higher!