Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $36.76

Buy Now for $36.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Highway robber.

Convict.

Runaway.

Mother.

Jenny Trelawney is no ordinary thief. Forced by poverty to live in the Devon forest, she becomes a successful highway woman - until her luck runs out.

Transported to Australia, pregnant and alone, Jenny must face harsh challenges in an unforgiving land. When famine hits the new colony, Jenny becomes convinced that those she most cares about will not survive. 

She becomes the leader in a grand plot of escape. Setting sail in a small open boat on an unknown ocean, she will do anything for freedom, but at what cost?

A fierce and heartbreaking historical debut, perfect for fans of The Light Between Oceans and based on the incredible true story of convict Mary Bryant.

©2019 Meg Keneally (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

What listeners say about Fled

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ADDICTIVE COMPELLING

I loved every single second of this tale n I want MORE Ive actually stopped watching TV atm so I can listen to this thrilling tale . I feel like I know her , Especially her survival skills ! I cried like a baby and laughed out loud I’m sure she survived n married n lived happily ever after cause I’m the eternal optimist!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An epic tale of the survival a female convict

A wonderfully narrated audio book. The facts that inspired this fictional account are astonishing and it was terrific to reflect on this part of Australia's history through the experience of a female convict. The telling of the tale is good. In places the characters lacked the emotional intensity their real life counterparts must have experienced.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DFK
  • DFK
  • 27-12-2020

Well-told and moving story

This story is inspired by true events (Mary Bryant being the real character whom Jenny is based on), and in this telling the characters and their hard lives are presented in a sympathetic and compassionate light. The story is engrossing, the writing is lovely, and the performance is a delight to listen to. If you like historical fiction, I highly recommend this book. In fact, even if you think you don’t, I highly recommend this book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather Trow
  • Heather Trow
  • 18-11-2020

A Horrowing Adventure

To summarise, this story is a retelling of an iconic historical figure, Mary Bryant, and her journey to and escape from one of the first Australian colonies. This story is heart-wrenching with some horrific moments and knowing that a real-life woman suffered through most of the events occurring in this book makes my blood curdle. The author did a great job of treating Mary Bryant's hardships with sensitivity and respect.

This is a wonderful novel. I'm truly blown away by the stark and simple language the author uses to tell of such hardships. I struggled to put it down. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who likes historical fiction, a strong female lead, and plenty of emotion! The characters in this are so excellently developed. I especially admired Jenny Gwyn (Mary Bryant) and her strength, determination, and grit as she tried to keep herself and her little family alive. And despite Dan Gwyn's role in Jenny's fate, I liked him too. He felt very real to me and his downward spiral was just as heart-wrenching as some of the things Jenny experienced.

I'm giving it 4.5 stars because I was 100% happy with the epilogue. There didn't need to be one and it added nothing to the general feel of the story.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.