Get Your Free Audiobook

Fled

Narrated by: Jessica Ball
Length: 12 hrs and 2 mins
5 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

Non-member price: $36.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Highway robber.

Convict.

Runaway.

Mother.

Jenny Trelawney is no ordinary thief. Forced by poverty to live in the Devon forest, she becomes a successful highway woman - until her luck runs out.

Transported to Australia, pregnant and alone, Jenny must face harsh challenges in an unforgiving land. When famine hits the new colony, Jenny becomes convinced that those she most cares about will not survive. 

She becomes the leader in a grand plot of escape. Setting sail in a small open boat on an unknown ocean, she will do anything for freedom, but at what cost?

A fierce and heartbreaking historical debut, perfect for fans of The Light Between Oceans and based on the incredible true story of convict Mary Bryant.

©2019 Meg Keneally (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ADDICTIVE COMPELLING

I loved every single second of this tale n I want MORE Ive actually stopped watching TV atm so I can listen to this thrilling tale . I feel like I know her , Especially her survival skills ! I cried like a baby and laughed out loud I’m sure she survived n married n lived happily ever after cause I’m the eternal optimist!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An epic tale of the survival a female convict

A wonderfully narrated audio book. The facts that inspired this fictional account are astonishing and it was terrific to reflect on this part of Australia's history through the experience of a female convict. The telling of the tale is good. In places the characters lacked the emotional intensity their real life counterparts must have experienced.