We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
This Is How It Always Is Audiobook

This Is How It Always Is

Regular Price:$31.21
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $16.45/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Laurie Frankel's This Is How It Always Is is a warm, touching and bittersweet novel about a family that's just like any other - until it's not. For fans of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Rosie and Penn always wanted a daughter. Four sons later, they decide to try one last time - and their beautiful little boy Claude is born. Life continues happily for this big, loving family until the day when Claude says that when he grows up, he wants to be a girl. As far as Rosie and Penn are concerned, bright, funny and wonderful Claude can be whoever he or she wants. But as problems begin at school and in the community, the family faces a seemingly impossible dilemma: should Claude change, or should they and Claude try to change the world?

Warm, touching and bittersweet, This Is How It Always Is is a novel about families, love and how we choose to define ourselves. It will make you laugh and cry - and see the world differently.

©2017 Laurie Frankel (P)2017 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom." (Maria Semple, best-selling author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (26 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (21 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (22 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    rivkeh Melbourne, Australia 06/01/2018
    rivkeh Melbourne, Australia 06/01/2018 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant "

    A tender and beautiful story about love difference and impossible choices in parenting. Best read since A Little Life. Highly highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • alexandra
    16/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A completely genius debut"

    Transgender issues have been talked about from many different perspectives but through the eyes of five-year-old Claude, Laurie Frankel manages to present us with something entirely new. And in the process, she's managed to make me think about gender and identity in a completely different way. As young Poppy gradually emerges, the listener is encouraged to confront the complexities of the situation as well as realising that they by no means define a person or their potential.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Ms. Laura Mercier
    17/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect"

    One of those stories you don't want to end. Heartbreaking, beautiful and absolutely gorgeous- a must read!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Boo
    Bristol
    11/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An incredible book!"
    If you could sum up This Is How It Always Is in three words, what would they be?

    Engaging, absorbing and brilliant!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of This Is How It Always Is?

    Claude/Poppy discovering the 'middle way' and Buddhism in Thailand


    What does Gabra Zackman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    The narration brings a sensitivity and vulnerability to the voice of Poppy and Claude.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It was at times heartbreaking, at others life-affirming and left me with a sense of optimism


    Any additional comments?

    I loved the story, the way it was told and will remember the complex cahracters

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • AA
    7/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An intelligent take on gender issues"
    Where does This Is How It Always Is rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It comes pretty high up!


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The scenes where Penn reads the bedtime stories


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Absolutely


    Any additional comments?

    Laurie Frankel has done a brilliant job of presenting to the listener all the most pressing and contentious transgender issues in this accessible, often funny and touching novel. From wanting to wear a dress and carry a handbag on his first day at primary school to hiding a secret from the girlfriends that he loves having sleepovers with, Claude has to navigate some complicated truths on the road to properly becoming Poppy. But the true brilliance of this book is in its consistent ability to make you smile through all the mini-disasters and prejudices of others. And all of that coupled with the fact that this is Frankel's debut!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Rachel T.
    5/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful"
    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Thought provoking and emotional. Very well done on a tricky subject. Extremely well written.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • catherine
    26/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant, beautiful, sad and thought provoking"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    For sure. It's brilliantly written and the plot is like nothing i've ever read before. It has changed the way I think about gender.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of This Is How It Always Is?

    The relationship between mother, father and their 'child' - I loved seeing how they guided Claude/Poppy through her childhood.


    What does Gabra Zackman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Softly narrated in a tone that made me cry - more than once!


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    For sure, cry. But in a heart warming way.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Laura
    6/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful book and narration"

    I loved everything about the story and the narration. A slightly cheesy novel, but nether the less hard hitting & thought provoking. Very well written and great characters.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Linden
    BROMLEY, United Kingdom
    18/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best"

    I found this a truly wonderful book. It is gentle, but so thought provoking. Beautifully narrated - it will stay with me for ever.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cebe Seren
    Birmingham, UK
    2/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful, funny, thoughtful, thought-provoking"

    Loved the subject, the family, the humour, the interwoven fairy tale. Expertly performed. Didn't want it to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    15/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story, but..."

    I loved, loved this story.. I loved how honest and truthful it was, in that there are no definitive answers.
    ...however, I did have an issue with the performance. It was simply too fast, and I say that as a fast talker. Slowing it down to .75 made it monotone, but at standard speed I found myself having to actively concentrate, and twice I actually gave up. The only thing drawing me back was the plot, otherwise the speed was enough of a put-off to desist altogether.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.