Regular price: $39.02

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible

Badly read badly written

I could bet to listen - wish I hadn’t bought it

In a word it was trite

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 30-09-2017

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • shellb87
  • 30-06-2018

Absolutely fantastic

Excellent and captivating. I loved every minute of this audio book. A fantastic reimaging of the life of Anne Boleyn

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Fliss Sanford
  • 22-05-2018

Odd editing but interesting take on the story.

On the whole, this was a great purchase but there are errors in the recording; Henry’s voice is annoying and it does take forever to get there before being over in a rush.

However, Weir puts a unique spin on Anne’s story and it captivated me enough to get to the end.

Unfortunately, Audible’s musical interlude cuts in immediately after the last words meaning I was jarred irrevocably.

What an end! Bloody Henry!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-05-2018

Another gripping story from Alison Weir

Fantastic. I cried for Anne. History brought alive. wonderful narration. Alison Weir is a genius

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Corsaire
  • 21-05-2018

Bad sound quality with occasional bloopers

Many many hiccups in the sound, sometimes obscuring vital names or words. bbbhhfddub bhgdd ggcfh gy ghfc

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • mari gordon
  • 15-05-2018

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charlotte
  • 14-04-2018

Great story but bad editing.

Would you listen to Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession again? Why?

I had to give up listening the first time and have gone back to reading the book. With no disrespect to the narrator, her voice was too old for the young Anne and who ever mixed this left small mouth noises in, either that or she kept rustling papers. However by cleaning up the recording these little noises that irritate when listen to on head phones could be eliminated and I could then get over the age of the reader.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession?

Did not listen long enough each time to get into it. However when reading the book Alison Weir does an all round fantastic job building the scene and welcoming you into a Tudor world.

Any additional comments?

If you are not picky about extra noises and can relax into it by all means listen. However if not then I still urge people to read the book as Alison has done it again with an excellent piece.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SarahBHB
  • 26-03-2018

excellent listen, would definitely recommend

obviously we know the inevitable end but nonetheless this book is an incredible listen and a lovely narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Caroline Barnes
  • 05-02-2018

A good listen

I enjoyed listening to this book as I love Tudor history. However the narrators interpretation of King Henry the eighth really grated on me. It was harsh and did not adapt to the different scenarios even in scenes where Henry is verbalising his love for Ann this for me spoilt the book.
Please Alison get another narrator. I love your books.
Only stuck with it because I like the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emily James
  • 11-12-2017

Intense

Fantastic book, even better than the first. The ending made me cry. Looking forward to the next instalment!!