Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $22.47

Buy Now for $22.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

One of the most brilliant timeslip novels ever written, Ferney will appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and Life After Life.

When Mike and Gally Martin move to a cottage in Somerset, it's to make a new start. But the relationship comes under strain when Gally forms an increasingly close attachment to an old countryman, Ferney, who seems to know everything about her.

What is it that draws them together? Reluctantly at first, then with more urgency as he feels time slipping away, Ferney compels Gally to understand their connection - and to face an inexplicable truth about their shared past.

©2015 James Long (P)2016 Simon & Schuster Audio UK

More from the same

What listeners say about Ferney

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful memory

How wonderful. This book gave me my love of time slip novels and it has been wonderful to listen to it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Letty
  • Letty
  • 28-10-2020

Not what I’d hoped

After reading all the reviews about this book I had high hopes, but after listening to it in its entirety I was left a bit disappointed.
I found it had some good moments during the story but the majority of it I found dull, flat and with not very likeable characters.
But the main problem was the narrator who kept forgetting which voice he was doing for which character and so sometimes Ferney sounded like Gally and vice versa which was disconcerting and off putting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Isobel
  • Isobel
  • 26-05-2021

Some interesting ideas, but ...

There were things that really grated, including the unconvincing references to Gally's miscarriage. There are self-indulgent references to it all over the place. Most women accept it as pretty common and get on with life as far as my quite significant experience informs me, but for some reason this one needed ongoing special treatment for a very long time. I found that incredibly irritating. There was no mistaking that this book was written by a man. And nobody needs planning permission to replace a door. I found the main premise interesting but not convincingly written so that I was constantly bemused by the lack of plausibility of the plot even within the context of the book. This did not do it for me I'm afraid, I cannot believe it was up for any kind of award. The descriptive passages felt very contrived and self-conscious with ribbons of smoke and tinkling brooks (not literally, but this kind of thing). There were slight issues with the reading, in that emphasis was occasionally unnatural and some of the attempts at expressiveness seemed laboured. I found the narration distracted me from the flow of the story at times. The more I think about this book actually the less I like it. It is everything I don't like about modern fiction - self conscious, contrived and unconvincing. Three stars is possibly generous now I come to think of it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lindaloo
  • Lindaloo
  • 18-09-2020

Gets under your skin

I read this book years ago & the story stayed with me, I forgot the title & authors name over the years, on discovering audio books, I set about trying to find it, putting all sorts of descriptions into google, I was so happy I found it, I can honestly say it’s the best book I’ve ever read & listened to & will listen to again, after reading the follow up book, “The lives she left behind”, which arrives tomorrow & will buy the audio once it’s been verbally told. Beautiful story telling in all it’s forms.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James lee griffiths
  • James lee griffiths
  • 04-07-2019

Absolutely beautiful story of love spanning over many lifetimes

Have just finished for the second time, beautifully written and wonderfully narrated story set in a mystical part of the country Somerset

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-03-2019

An exquisite recording of an extraordinary book

Eleven out of ten, the narrator brings real character to the world of Ferney through the words of a truly underrated author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Whistling Woman
  • Whistling Woman
  • 28-08-2017

One of my "Desert Island" books performed well

One of my all time favourite books, performed very well. It was even more engrossing to listen to than to read. Please let's have the sequel "The Lives She Left Behind" so that we can find out what happens next

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.