Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Fated cover art

Fated

By: Benedict Jacka
Narrated by: Gildart Jackson
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.

In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.

Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

©2012 Benedict Jacka (P)2013 Tantor Media Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" ( SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" ( Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" ( FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" ( BOOKCHICKCITY)

What listeners say about Fated

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Main character is kind of rapey

At first I was a bit put off when I realised that when the story referred to a girl, it wasn't actually a child but rather a 22 year-old woman. But then things move beyond casual sexism to kind of creepy. Like when the main character decides that he has to assault and abduct a woman (sorry I mean 22 year old girl) because she's too stupid to know what's good for her. Besides being rapey, the main character is not exactly likeable so far, he has an unfortunate combination of feeling constantly hard done by while always needing to be right. The book so far kind of feels like a conversation with some pompous prat in a pub who tries to pick you up by lecturing you about the finer points of Deleuze. Not sure I can make it through.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Solid Story

I enjoyed Fated. It's a good solid story with some action, character and a good (if somewhat too measured IMO) narration. I was looking for something similar to Rivers of London, but that was silly of me. Same genre... not the same tone.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it but....

Absolutely loved Alex, Luna and Starbreeze. The story was fast paced from the first chapter.

Hated the pompous narrator who reminded me of those voices that did documentrys in the 70's.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Would have been grumpy if I paid full price

Was not a fan of this book. The narrator has a nice voice but the reading was forced and poorly acted. Think high school play script reading.

I felt the story was...ordinary. The protagonist is arrogant and the writing is patriarchal at best. I'm not going to bother with the rest of the series. It's rapey and misogynistic.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unexpected

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book, but it grew on me over the course of the telling. Set in modern day London in an alternate, secret and parallel magical community it is full of interesting characters and action.
I found that the beginning was a slow burn as the main characters and their world was opened to the listener. The pace and the twists pick up after this establishment phase.
Alex Vruus is happily running his magic shop when a friend brings him a relic to him which has strange properties. This item is the catalyst for marking them targets of a few factions in the magical community, none of whom are friendly.
Alex’s talent, of forseeing the many possibilities of any action, is needed to keep them alive and to solve a centuries old problem.
This story is well read and very pleasant to listen to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Promising but...

Interesting listen, but I struggled to get into it. I disliked the narrator's female voices, and I found Alex to be aloof and unsympathetic. Normally I love a hero with a hint of moral ambiguity and maybe he'd grow on me in later books, but I'm bowing out for now.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poor man's Dresden Files

Derivative and poorly written. Avoid unless utterly desperate for urban fantasy and lack other options. Listen to Butcher or Aaronovich as vastly superior alternatives by choice.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enter this world -

Certainly, a fun series to listen to, and it all starts here! Fast-paced. good characters, a fun story full of adventure - now hooked on the A Verus series thanks to this one. Lots of magical mayhem in this well-written and well-paced book 1 to a great series. I was hooked from the beginning. Loved it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.