Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $38.97

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

This is the first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy duology loosely inspired by the early climbers of Mt. Everest - perfect for fans of Cindy Pon and Alison Goodman.

Kamzin has always dreamed of becoming one of the emperor’s royal explorers, the elite climbers tasked with mapping the wintry, mountainous empire and spying on its enemies. She knows she could be the best in the world, if only someone would give her a chance.

But everything changes when the mysterious and eccentric River Shara, the greatest explorer ever known, arrives in her village and demands to hire Kamzin - not her older sister Lusha, as everyone had expected - for his next expedition. This is Kamzin’s chance to prove herself - even though River’s mission to retrieve a rare talisman for the emperor means climbing Raksha, the tallest and deadliest mountain in the Aryas. Then Lusha sets off on her own mission to Raksha with a rival explorer who is determined to best River, and Kamzin must decide what’s most important to her: protecting her sister from the countless perils of the climb or beating her to the summit.

The challenges of climbing Raksha are unlike anything Kamzin expected - or prepared for - with avalanches, ice chasms, ghosts, and even worse at every turn. And as dark secrets are revealed, Kamzin must unravel the truth of their mission and of her companions - while surviving the deadliest climb she has ever faced.

©2017 Heather Fawcett (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Even the Darkest Stars

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Azlina
  • Azlina
  • 16-10-2020

It’s really not bad

It’s not bad. It fills out the formula. I wouldn’t call it good exactly... It’s just not incredibly gripping to be honest. I’m not moved by the characters. It could be because of the stories I have been listening to prior to getting to this one, but it just wasn’t enough for me personally.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Greg
  • Greg
  • 24-11-2019

A bit more romance than I prefer

So I should preface that I am writing a series of reviews to reduce the unfinished books in my collection. I got over halfway through this book. The plot was good enough to keep me from jumping ahead...but not good enough for me to finish the book.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.