Get Your Free Audiobook

Embrace

Narrated by: Rebecca Macauley
Series: Violet Eden, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

Non-member price: $35.84

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

All Violet wants is to be with Lincoln. But he has a secret so great it could tear them apart.

Then there’s Phoenix. He’s intense and enigmatic, but he's always there for her.

Caught up in a battle between light and dark - where angels seek vengeance and humans are warriors - Violet must decide who she’s willing to sacrifice and who to trust, because the wrong choice could cost her not only her life, but her destiny.

©2010 Jessica Shrivington (P)2012 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allison
  • Allison
  • 03-08-2017

Love Triangle!!

I personally hate love triangles! If I had known that's what this book was about I would have Never had started it. Also, I couldn't find anything I liked about the main character. I found her petty, selfish, & bitchy all the time. I saw straight thru the character Phoenix & the only saving grace to this book was the character Lincoln. Will NOT be finishing this series.
Needs to say in plot This Is A Love Triangle Book Series!!!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for renee
  • renee
  • 08-05-2016

one of my all time favorite series.

wish there were more books in this series. would make a excellent tv series, amazing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ella
  • Ella
  • 27-10-2012

Not all Aussi's sound like this

I'm Australian, but even I find this narrator's voice grating. There are also too many quotes from the bible in the book they seem to just come one after the other. The story is OK, but I wouldn't say it's fantastic. But I'm not the target audience.
I found the relationship age difference between two main characters to be disconcerting and condoning of a 17 year old to have a relationship with a 26 year old who also has a mentoring/authority figure role in the female characters life. It seemed a little too much glamorising a student having a relationship with a teacher.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Sunmonu
  • A. Sunmonu
  • 17-11-2012

Could be worse

Against my better judgement, i got book 2 of the series (the reviews for book 1 were not very encouraging). I very quickly realised i couldn't make head or tail of book 2 without reading (hearing) book 1, so i got "Embrace".
Let me just say i've suffered through the book as best as i can. the general storyline is actually quite good, but i get the feeling the characters aren't quite sure whether they're adults or teens!!
Maybe it's the actual performance - doubt it very much though - but i just couldn't bear the "whininess" of Violet's character, or the hedonistic teenage rebelliousness. It's so obvious a mile away that certain actions would result in obvious events and i guess for me, it's the predictability of those moments in the book that killed the buzz for me.
The last straw was when i found myself cringing during certain scenes and actually covering my ears with my hands, so i wouldn't be subjected to the epic cringe-worthiness of said lead character.
My advice: get another book - i still have to gird my loins to go through book 2 and i don't think i can survive the experience!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sophy Sorn
  • Sophy Sorn
  • 16-05-2019

Great read

This is a great book! I couldn’t stopped. Both guys is great and is it selfish of me to wanting them both? Lol but if I was to chose, I would go for Phoenix! He has this bad orbs around him. I liked Lincoln as well but I feel like Phoenix is a better match. I already knew who she’s gonna end up with but I could still hope. Rebecca Macauley is a new narrator to me but she did an excellent job!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chelsea B
  • Chelsea B
  • 16-10-2018

Loved it

Overall, I really love this series! It is a love triangle, so if you don't like that, this book if not for you. I found the narrators voice to be easy/pleasant to listen to and it's a book I look forward to getting in my car to listen to! I'm on book 3 and I'm still enjoying the series!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenna Sanchez
  • Jenna Sanchez
  • 26-10-2017

love this series!

I've read this series three times and listened once. Everytime I re-read it I find something new i missed. it makes you think and reflect. not many books do that for me.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. Mitchizzle
  • Ms. Mitchizzle
  • 28-12-2014

Interesting, but not life changing

My high school students love this book. Most girls read it in one night. I decided to give it a try. Strong performance with an interesting premise, but predictable. I can see why teenage girls like it and I will probably listen to the series, but not the most engrossing story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Minkman
  • J. Minkman
  • 12-04-2014

nice to read some YA paranormal from Australia!

I liked this book, but I wasn't blown away by it. It started out really well, what with mysteries and angels and all, and then somewhere halfway through, it was suddenly all about Violet fawning over Lincoln, then Phoenix, then Lincoln again, and it was all kind of predictable, but entertaining. I did like the fact that the author has clearly researched angel lore and all the ranks that angels might belong to. I might pick up the next book in the series, but I'm not sure yet. I liked the narration a lot! Cool to see they picked an Aussie narrator for this one, since the author is also from Australia.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marmalade
  • Marmalade
  • 21-11-2012

Boring. Don't be fooled by fake hype.

I bought this book because Steve Spielberg's production company sold it to the CW describing it as "being in the vein of Buffy and The Vampire Diaries." It's not. It's really boring, the character is unlikable and the world is uninteresting. It's been a long time since I've struggled to finish listening to a book, but I just couldn't bring myself to care about what happened. Definitely won't be reading the next installment.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful