Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $21.86

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best seller.

With candour, humour and warmth, legendary musician, actress, activist and icon Olivia Newton-John reveals her life story - from her unforgettable rise to fame in the classic musical Grease to her passionate advocacy for health and wellness in light of her battles with cancer. Perfect for fans of Tina Turner’s My Love Story and Sally Field’s In Pieces, this international best seller is an extraordinary can’t-miss memoir.

For more than five decades, Olivia Newton-John has been one of our most successful and adored entertainers. A four-time Grammy Award winner, she is one of the world’s best-selling recording artists of all time, with more than 100 million albums sold. Her starring roles in the iconic movies Grease and Xanadu catapulted her into superstardom. Her appeal as a performer is timeless.

In addition to her music and screen successes, Olivia is perhaps best known for her strength, courage and grace. After her own personal journeys with cancer, she has thrived and become an inspiration for millions around the world. A tireless advocate for countless charities, her true passion is as the founding champion of the Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness & Research Centre in her hometown of Melbourne, Australia. Olivia has always radiated joy, hope and compassion - determined to be a force for good in the world.

Now she is sharing her journey, from Melbourne schoolgirl to international superstar, in this deeply personal book. Warm, candid and moving, Don’t Stop Believin' is Olivia Newton-John's story in her own words for the very first time.

©2019 Olivia Newton-John (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

More from the same

What listeners say about Don't Stop Believin'

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian2504
  • Ian2504
  • 16-10-2019

Superb

I listened to this over 2 days. Couldn’t stop. Olivia tells her story very well and unlike some of the other biographies I’ve listened to of late she tells her full story to date. She’s a great narrator - you sense the highs and lows as she reads them - with clear emotion. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. What an interesting life she has had (to date) and she has clearly been through some very joyous and some very difficult times. Loved it. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Honest reader
  • Honest reader
  • 26-02-2020

Olivia shares who she is and what she believes

Olivia starts her narration with a clear statement about what she has chosen to share and why. Her rationale for sharing is based on her belief that her journey has been and continue to be, extraordinary & privileged enough to be of value to others in theirs. She does share insight into her career, but any revelations such as they are, relate to her developing spiritual journey, rather than directly to her personal relationships. Olivias creed is to focus wholly on the positive, and that could have made the narrative seem shallow were it not for the very challenging health issues & bereavements she has survived (grown from as she would have it) in the latter half of her life. That she reads it herself brings additional depth, I appreciated that she allowed us to hear the grief in her voice when she spoke lovingly of her friend Karen Carpenter for example. I would have loved to hear even more about her music career, her choice of songs, her expectations of them, unceasing or otherwise, the many tv shows and tours, and perhaps more about the many other artists she has worked with, etc, and there are some interesting vignettes, but her assertions that it is not fir her to tell others stories, and her natural Inclination to live in the ‘now’ probably influenced the balance of the book away from more content of that kind. Many people will be surprised to learn of some of the extraordinary things she has experienced in her long career, often related to her personal ‘causes’ rather than her music. Ultimately, its Olivia’s story and it reflects her life’s focus, which means it runs to many esoteric musings on life, love, nature, hope, animals and spirituality, and for some fans it may seem a little light on the background to the music that we continue to love. But if you want to really know her, you will, by hearing her read her own story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vikki Marie Gaynor
  • Vikki Marie Gaynor
  • 11-07-2020

A Beautiful Book About A Beautiful Soul

It is the sort of book that you struggle to stop and moving on towards the end became my only Focus, The way she talks about life made me smile and her views on spirituality are fascinating ,, NOT A NORMAL TREE HUGGER,, SHE IS A TOP NOTCH TREE HUGGER,,, Her Love Of Animals And Her Love Of Life Is Definitely Infectious And This Is One Bug That Is Worth Catching,, She Smiles And Laughs With You,, Then Off You Go to a place With Tears And Pain,, within seconds Out Comes The Happy and positive lady telling a brilliant story It moves so fast but it keeps you wanting to know the NEXT BIT,, Some Great Advice from a BRAVE Strong Lady with an insight that We all pray we never get,, (Cancer) which would destroy many of us,, ONJ just get up brushes herself off and opens up a Cancer and Well-being center with Research centers,, How Cool is that,, oh yeah that was I think after the second cancer treatment,, YOU are an Inspiration and I want to let my Mum listen to this,, and I guess she might get it or your cookbook to help her to WIN !!! (Read the Book you will get this comment) A simple and heartfelt thank you to ONJ and you are more impressive to me as YOURSELF,, than you ever were to me as Sandy (and I love that film) My Hope is to help my Mum WIN,, and you have re-invented the soundtrack to Xanadu for me,, I have always loved it but now I can love it through your eyes ..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark Northall
  • Mark Northall
  • 15-05-2020

Needs an update but a compelling listen

Enjoyed this - Livvy has gone through some real heartbreak but from Country Roads to Grease it had me gripped

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dave h
  • dave h
  • 11-02-2020

powerful truthful heartfelt

loved it what a truly remarkable human being I've been a big ONJ all my life and never knew the woman behind the music. I do now. a must for all fans

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.