Get Your Free Audiobook

Doctor of the High Fells

Narrated by: Anne Dover
Length: 12 hrs and 27 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
3.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of Northwest Durham, and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself; this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners belowground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle....

Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all.

From the best-selling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

©2015 Elizabeth Gill (P)2015 WF Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Doctor of the High Fells

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-04-2017

Easy to get lost in

loved it. some unusual twists and turns along the way. Beautifully narrated. would definitely recommend.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise Rogers
  • Denise Rogers
  • 20-02-2017

new reader

excellent clear narration with a care for the content and story line which was very thought provoking

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sarah hannah
  • sarah hannah
  • 12-03-2017

Escaped my dreadful commute

Fantastically written and such relatable characters. Easy to disappear into and stay with for days.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susieann
  • Susieann
  • 16-07-2017

thoroughly enjoyable. Completely booked

very well written story kept my attention from start to finish. Excellent performance.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. J. Gladden
  • R. J. Gladden
  • 26-06-2017

Gentle heartwarming story

Just finished listening to this lovely novel and thoroughly enjoyed both the story and the narration. I did find the tale a little 'chocolate boxy' in that it seemed like the perfect village, even the mine owner was a good guy who treated his workers well, the police didn't prosecute for murder unnecessarily and everything worked out well in the end for all concerned.

I'm always a little wary when life is so well organised but goodness knows we all need a bit of sunshine in our lives from time to time and it's great to finish a book with a smile on your face. Well worth a credit particularly if you have an interest in the history of social medicine in Britain.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annie
  • annie
  • 13-03-2017

Doctor of the High Fells

What did you like most about Doctor of the High Fells?

A story that held me from start to finish

What did you like best about this story?

The main character, Prudence, such a strong woman.

Have you listened to any of Anne Dover’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Anne has a wonderful range of character voices and so easy to listen to.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

It was hard to stop listening to. I felt sad when it ended.

Any additional comments?

This has been one of the best audible books I have listened to. Elizabeth Gill is a wonderful story teller. The book came to life with Anne Dover's smooth and confident narration.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole L.C
  • Nicole L.C
  • 16-01-2018

Predictable ending...

To be honest, there was not much going on in this book, I think Anne Dover who read the book breathed more life into it than was actually there. Predictable ending, was not nail biting or thought provoking, just woman finally gets man. Took me a long time to get into the book, lovely scene setting, but sadly lacking on story. Never the less kept me entertained as Anne Dover is my favourite reader☺️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie Ann Jones
  • Julie Ann Jones
  • 17-06-2017

what a story ssssoòoo good

Ann Dover is brilliant the book compelling moving upsetting funny I adored Madeley the dog.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-08-2018

great book

loved the story from start to finish.
surprises throughout the story . great suspense at times. i felt emotions.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jo
  • Jo
  • 07-01-2018

Good listening

Enjoyable storyline good narration. Would listen to this author again and again. I definitely recommend.