Get Your Free Audiobook

Do You Mind If I Cancel?

(Things That Still Annoy Me)
Narrated by: Gary Janetti
Length: 3 hrs and 39 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

Non-member price: $14.48

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"If you love storytelling in the style of David Sedaris, this audiobook - narrated by Janetti himself - is for you." (Yahoo Lifestyle)

This program is read by the author.

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey...meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills into a hilarious, and poignant audiobook chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his 20s in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, "These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me."

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind if I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Praise for Do You Mind If I Cancel?:

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart." (Kevin Kwan)

"The writing of Gary Janetti, whether televised or tweeted, is famously incisive and sharp-tongued. What a revelation it was, therefore, to discover in these revealing personal essays an artist of great tenderness and vulnerability. And he's still funny as hell." (Armistead Maupin)

"It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

©2019 Gary Janetti (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart, I'm sure a jealous Prince George will decree that Gary be locked up in the Tower of London." (Kevin Kwan, New York Times best-selling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy)

“It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped.” (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

"Almost as soon as I began to read Gary Janetti’s Do You Mind If I Cancel?, I found myself feeling the way I felt when I first encountered Fran Lebowitz and David Rakoff: laughing and wanting to shout out the best bits to whoever else was in the room, even if no one else was there. This crazy quilt of memoir, cultural history, one-liners aplenty, and periodic arias of hopefulness, frustration, and brashly rude rage, is a work of intertwined great humor and great feeling. I’ve already lost my copy, snatched up by its next eager reader.” (Benjamin Dreyer, New York Times best-selling author of Dreyer's English)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but not funy

I struggled comparing my reaction to other reviews, I did not find this funny. As a gay men who is a similar age to Gary this book brought up painful memories of loneliness, isolation, confusion and fear.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 08-12-2019

Don't make the same mistake as me, with this book.

Don't listen to it while applying mascara. I laughed so hard that I nearly stabbed myself in the eyeball.

The worst part of this book is that it ended. I am off now to try to find more by this author. He is brilliant and I love him.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Amazing, hilarious, insightful

Great story, gay friendly, and very honest, everyone should read this book
Based in 80-90s

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Do you mind if I cancel?

Yes I do, I need more! Can we please have a do you mind if I cancel again?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole Placco
  • Nicole Placco
  • 06-11-2019

Spoken Word Poetry?

I could not get past the monotone, spoken word poetry style of narration he chose. I understand that he's "annoyed" but it never changed at all. Most memoirs I read have inflection and cadence that help you feel what the author is feeling and thinking. I downloaded this book because I love the writers of Family Guy so I thought it would be great to hear about Gary's life, but, I cannot get past the narration. Sorry Gary! Love your work otherwise!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-10-2019

Of very little substance.

Read in Gary Janetti's deadpan voice, I thought that the book would be more laugh inducing. The stories are of little substance, and are honestly kind of boring like he's writing an essay for eighth grade English. Would probably not recommend.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nancy Z.
  • Nancy Z.
  • 31-10-2019

What’s with the title?

The title is totally misleading. I was hoping for a witty, slightly sarcastic commentary on everyday annoyances, something I could relate to. This was more of a memoir or coming of age story. And not that good.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-12-2019

Did not like

Had a catchy title, thought it might be interesting. It was not at all what I am interested in reading about.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for danielle ostrowski
  • danielle ostrowski
  • 23-10-2019

Listen to this!

I am a huge fan of Gary (and Brad) from Instagram and have been anticipating this book. It's hilarious, it's stories & the pattern Gary tells them in are hysterical. I listened to it in full right away and laughed out loud throughout. I can't recommend this enough. I loved it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosie
  • Rosie
  • 09-01-2020

Kept me entertained and laughing

Fun book. Very relatable, even to a straight female with no aspirations for stardom. I would have given the performance 5 stars except the pace was too varied without reason. It was easy enough to see past that and enjoy the stories though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous
  • Anonymous
  • 08-01-2020

Hilarious

Absolutely adored this book. Gary had me in stitches & absolutely entranced throughout the book. Highly recommended!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-01-2020

How can you not love Gary?!!

Such a great book if you feel like you’ve been through so much and never going to get “there”. Gary’s hilarious honesty is refreshing and awesome. I highly recommend this.
If you can listen to the audio book. Gary narrates the book abc it makes it 1000% better!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vicky Moksouvanh
  • Vicky Moksouvanh
  • 25-12-2019

Everything and more!

I have been a fan of Gary's since the reality show he had with Brad. I've been a long time follower on Twitter and off course have post notifications on for his Instagram! There was no question I was going to get my hands on this book! I have the book but I needed to hear Gary read it. I'm glad I got the audible because I was dying laughing throughout the whole book. I finished it in one day while doing stuff around the house. Please write another book Gary! This book is freaking hilarious!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patty
  • Patty
  • 19-12-2019

Couldn’t get through

Just could not finish. I tried several times. Requested a refund.

Very disappointing from such a funny guy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cam Camelita
  • Cam Camelita
  • 03-01-2020

boring

I had huge expectations of this book as I follow him on Instagram and he is hilarious there, but not sure if I hated more the tone of his voice or him just telling random stories about his younger years and how hot he was and his obsession with soap operas. Not that funny and repetitive af.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise R
  • Louise R
  • 07-12-2019

left me crying for more.

nakedly honest and unashamedly self aware. I found myself taking the long way home just to get a little more in.