Get Your Free Audiobook

Death on a Moonlit Night

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 26
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 2 hrs and 45 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)
Non-member price: $4.06
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When the boss of the big local DIY outlet is murdered on a moonlit night, all the evidence points to the store's junior manager. And when police retrieve the murder weapon from the Thames, the manager goes on the run. But Jack and Sarah are not at all sure of his guilt. Can they uncover the real killer before it's too late for the runaway suspect?

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Teresa Fields
  • 18-02-2019

Entertaining

I'm never disappointed with this series. Perfect cozy crimes and so enjoyable. Keep them coming!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Verna
  • 23-02-2019

Great listening!

The Cherringham Series are murder shorts sort of like Tv episodes with Jack and Sarah serving as unofficial detectives. You get to know everyone in the community, and the places of interest. Each mystery is as good as the one before! Jack is an American retired from NYPD to Cherryingham and Sarah is a young local. Have read everyone of the stories and hope for more!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trish R.
  • 11-03-2019

Great little read/listen...


This was about a murder of a boss that deserved it BUT the man who was framed for it, Nick, did not deserve it. Nick was the fiancé of Sarah’s partner, so we knew all the while that he was innocent. It was a pretty good frame-job too, but they couldn’t pull anything over on Jack, our retired NYPD Detective.

As to the narration: Love they sound of Neil Dudgeon voice for everyone, especially Jack. He always does such a wonderful job on these novellas.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • veronica
  • 04-03-2019

love them!

I love that this series is so down to earth. It gives you a look at the characters lives without giving too much detail just to make the story longer. I also love the fact that the authors didn't make this a May/December love affair right from the start of the series. If it happens in the future though, I won't be mad. ijs

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melissa
  • 22-02-2019

Always, always wonderful time spent listening!

This series is consistently enjoyable. Each mystery unfolds with interesting characters and believable dialogue nestled in a village you want to live in... if murders and crime don’t bother you. Neil Dudgeon has the perfect voice and style for each Cherringham character.
I really do look forward to each story that he narrates!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christina
  • 22-02-2019

One of my favorite series!

I typically buy these series in the 3 pack bundles, but I saw it listed on Audible as a stand alone and couldn’t wait! I love this series and the thought of waiting for it to get bundled was not an option, so I bought it straight away! That should be a testament of how wonderful this whole series is. The blend of Jack & Sarah together is simply perfection. Their personalities play off one another with so much charm & charisma that I never want the stories to end!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Milton Carl
  • 21-02-2019

Perfect cozy

Neil Dudgeon is just a wonderful reader and is such a good fit for this series, like Penelope Keith doing Agatha Raisin or Barbara Rosenblat doing Mrs. Polifax.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charlotte Brown
  • 27-02-2019

Love Cherringham

This series is superb both in character and narration. I can't wait for my next visit to Cherringham. My only criticism is they are short, but maybe that's why they work and it's always fresh and lively.