Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $25.82

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A classic cosy mystery from a master of the genre! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M C Beaton, Sophie Hannah and Faith Martin.

Shockwaves are sent through the sleepy village of Trill when a woman’s body is discovered in a local school. Beatrice Baynes - interfering, overbearing and spiteful - was not well liked. But no one expects a body to be found on their doorstep.... And how did the annual festival at Meldon School turn from a lighthearted celebration to a gruesome crime scene? 

With the local constabulary completely stumped, Scotland Yard’s Chief Detective Inspector Pollard and Detective Sergeant Toye are called in to investigate. But the further Pollard and Toye delve into their inquiries, the more complicated the case becomes....

Death of an Old Girl is the first cosy village mystery in the Pollard & Toye crime series: an intriguing police procedural set in rural England. 

©1967 Elizabeth Lemarchand (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"This is a real genuine police-detective story, and a first-class one at that...altogether I would call this a hundred-per-cent winner." (The Guardian)

What listeners say about Death of an Old Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 26-03-2020

Big Disappointment :(

This one did not meet expectations, even though it was advertised to have all the components for a great cozy mystery, which are my favorites. Try as I might, I could not stick with it. The narration was grating and the story line was repetitive.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Inquisitve Ian
  • Inquisitve Ian
  • 09-08-2019

Written Concurrently NOT A Retro Tale!

Annoyed by the style and vocabulary, was suddenly prompted to check the original publication date, 1967! This altered my whole perception and I settled down to ebjoy a genuine "period" piece. Basic detection with none of the accoutrements of modern "coppering". I hope you can take as much pleasure as I, someone for whom life of 50+ years ago remains very familiar.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Juniper
  • Juniper
  • 26-09-2019

Disappointing reading

A beguiling mystery spoilt by a reading that was much too fast, frequently wrongly punctuated and with too many mis-pronounced words

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NMFH
  • NMFH
  • 15-12-2019

Reader

Terrible reader. Wooden delivery and very odd intonation. Not reviews story as couldn’t bear to listen beyond first few chapters.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.