Get Your Free Audiobook

Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery

A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 2
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A masked ball, a dead body, a missing diamond necklace and a suspicious silver candlestick? Sounds like a case for Lady Eleanor Swift! 

England, 1920. Lady Eleanor Swift, adventurer extraordinaire and reluctant amateur detective, is taking a break from sleuthing. She’s got much bigger problems: Eleanor has two left feet, nothing to wear and she’s expected at the masked ball at the local manor. Her new beau Lance Langham is the host, so she needs to dazzle. 

Surrounded by partygoers with painted faces, pirates, priests and enough feathers to drown an ostrich, Eleanor searches for a familiar face. As she follows a familiar pair of long legs up a grand staircase, she’s sure she’s on Lance’s trail. But she opens the door on a dreadful scene: Lance standing over a dead Colonel Puddifoot, brandishing a silver candlestick, the family safe wide open and empty. 

Moments later, the police burst in and arrest Lance for murder, diamond theft and a spate of similar burglaries. But Eleanor is convinced her love didn’t do it, and with him locked up in prison, she knows she needs to clear his name. 

Something Lance lets slip about his pals convinces Eleanor the answer lies close to home. Accompanied by her faithful sidekick Gladstone the bulldog, she begins with Lance’s friends - a set of fast driving, even faster drinking, high-society types with a taste for mischief. But after they start getting picked off in circumstances that look a lot like murder, Eleanor is in a race against time to clear Lance’s name and avoid another brush with death....

Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Downton Abbey will adore this tremendously fun cozy whodunnit, full of mystery, murder and intrigue! 

©2020 Verity Bright (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmazonCustomer
  • AmazonCustomer
  • 09-07-2020

Story is very slow and no true plot.

Characters spend more time insulting and complimenting each other. Otherwise they have no personality.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth B
  • Beth B
  • 05-08-2020

Great fun and an excellent mystery

Characters are well drawn and fun. Lots of good relationships and a taste of that era with lots of humour and excellent narration by Karen Cass

A most entertaining cozy mystery

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-07-2020

Enjoyable flash back to another time.

If you enjoy some good bantering with interesting characters this book's for you. I truly enjoyed the way the writer transports you to a different time.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21-08-2020

Perfect!

Absolutely loved it! A good storyline and the narrator is fantastic...draws you into the story and brings the characters to life. Definitely recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-08-2020

Good story, odd narration.

Story is very good and a nice light hearted escapist who-done-it.
Narrator ends every sentence in a flat, dead tone. Don't know why the dialogue is ok but the rest sounds like the narrator is on the verge of depression every sentence.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. C. Hunt
  • Mrs. C. Hunt
  • 30-07-2020

Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy M

Loads of fun, as she clumsily detects to find the murder and thief, to make sure her friend dose not hang. Read brilliantly by Karen Cass.