Get Your Free Audiobook

Deadman's Track

Narrated by: Wendy Bos
Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

Non-member price: $38.13

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Alone in the wilderness, they are picked off one by one....

A gripping, standalone romantic thriller from an author at the top of her game, for fans of The Dark Lake and The Dry

A tragic accident, a terrible crime, an unknown threat....

Scarred by a recent tragedy on Federation Peak, Tess Atherton is reluctant to guide a group of young hikers in the wild Tasmanian winter, but it seems safer than remaining amid the violence that threatens them in Hobart. Little does she know that she has brought the danger with her....

Detective Senior Sergeant Jared Denham is closing in on a serial killer, but someone doesn't want him getting to the truth and the case is becoming personal. He already owes Tess his life, and wants to return the favor - but when it comes to enemies, Jared may be looking in the wrong direction.Time is running out, and death is stalking them both....

"Deadman's Track is a dark, compelling thriller, filled with vivid imagery and heart-stopping suspense. Sarah Barrie has made me desperate to visit Tasmania and simultaneously terrified of ever stepping foot there. I loved every moment." (Nicola Moriarty, author of The Ex)

©2020 Sarah Barrie (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Deadman's Track

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not as good as 1or2

Beautiful Tasmania is once again shown to the reader through words, the beauty and majesty of its wilderness; but it also shows just how treacherous that beauty can be. Deadman's Track also shows us just how evil some humans can be. I am not sure what the crime rate is in Australia's smallest state ((the Australian Capital Territory is smaller again) but can only hope that Sarah Barrie's three novel series centred around the Atherton family is not a true indicator. Of course, it used to be a notorious penal colony, but these days, the beauty of the island state is what it is best known for. Romance flourishes once again amidst the carnage. Tess Atherton is the youngest of the three siblings—Connor, Logan and Tess (Blood Tree River is Logan's story and Devil's Lair is Connor's) but though the Athertons are the common thread throughout the series, it is Tess and the two women who will eventually become her sisters-in-law who take the lead rolls in each story. In Deadman's Track, there are virtually no appearances of either Connor or Logan, though Logan's wife, Indy has a major role. Tess' (main) love interest is a detective who works with Indy. As my heading says, I was not as enamoured of this work as I was with books 1and2 in the series. The narration wasn't too bad, but as in Devil's Lair, the fact,that Indy is American and speaks with an American accent is entirely overlooked.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Beavan
  • Paula Beavan
  • 29-07-2020

It kept me up listening far too late into the night

If you love a story that you can’t put down/turn off at night, this one is for you. I love Sarah Barrie’s books, and this one doesn’t disappoint. I took a but to get used to the narrator’s style, but I soon was caught up in the characters and the riveting plot.