Get Your Free Audiobook

Dark Rose

Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Length: 18 hrs and 55 mins
4 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.94

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

It started by stealth. At first, no one could see what was happening. By the time the alarm was raised it was too late. Ireland had been seized: a financial assault consolidated by a military one. 

But as the island is overrun, it’s soon clear that the invaders did not anticipate the fierce resolve of of their Celtic opponents. Nor the determination of the country’s powerful allies to throw out the occupiers. 

While a strengthening Irish resistance mounts a fierce guerilla campaign to take their country back, the British bring to bear the full might of the Army, Royal Navy and RAF to liberate their friend and neighbour across the Irish Channel. 

Dark Rose takes a bold premise and weaves it into a breathtaking, action-packed military thriller. 

If you like Tom Clancy, Frederick Forsyth, Andy McNab, Chris Ryan, Larry Bond, Dale Brown or Damien Lewis then you’ll love Mike Lunnon-Wood. 

Perfect for fans of Red Storm Rising, Sniper One or Bravo Two Zero and movies like Red Dawn, Dunkirk and The Siege of Jadotville.

©1996 Mike Lunnon-Wood (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-05-2019

Did It for Me

A little Aged but a very good way to spend 18 hours.
Just bought another by the same Author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Hart
  • C. Hart
  • 07-03-2019

Excellent story. Excellent narration.

When Audible takes the time to ensure the narrator has actually read the book in advance and checks that they can do credible accents, it can make an interesting premise into a memorable audio book experience. Lunnon Wood’s admirable premise coupled with his relentless research paired with Jameson’s fine narration is just such an experience. Well done to all involved.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-03-2019

Proposterously good fun!

One of Mike's less realistic scenarios and very much of its time. For all that I found it strangely moving. He brings in all his favorite units and the Arabs are a bit one dimensional to be honest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for daniele belussi
  • daniele belussi
  • 14-01-2019

great book

chapters are a bit too long but overall a great book, good narration as well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-12-2018

very interesting

A compelling story of the good and bad stuff that went on in the army especially interesting in Afghanistan and also about after coming back to the UK and leaving the army

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JDEVLIN
  • JDEVLIN
  • 28-11-2018

Not his best

Too much background, not enough action with the fighters on either side of the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Parsons
  • A. Parsons
  • 23-11-2018

Excellent Listen

Long, but like all the Mike Lunnon Wood stories, an excellent listen. Thoroughly recommended. .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew Whitfield
  • Andrew Whitfield
  • 13-11-2018

a good listen

although it took a few minutes to get into the book, once the storylines had been built it then became extremely interesting.
This is the first book by this author, I will look at his other books based on this one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 28-10-2018

An excellent read with credibility

really enjoyed the believable and we'll research story line, not problem in listening to more of his stuff

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R J Moore
  • R J Moore
  • 19-12-2019

Yet Another Gripping Tale From This Author

I really enjoyed this fast-moving military adventure. If you go with the sinario the plot carries you along with it. Characters you will identify with and a villain you can boo!
The story shows it's age in a couple of places but that doesn't spoil your enjoyment.
More Please