Get Your Free Audiobook

Crystalline Space

Dark Stars Series, Book 1
Narrated by: Kristin James
Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Do-overs" are possible. 

The crystalline network allows reality to be reset to past moments in time....

After a routine reset on her homeworld, Elle instead awakens on a spaceship. Her body is different, she has new magical abilities, and she’s told that the fate of known civilization is in her hands.  

An alien Darkness is corrupting the crystalline network across the settled worlds. 

Elle and a team of talented companions - strangers imbued with special abilities like her own - must embark on an interstellar quest to seal the Master Archive, their only hope of restoring the infected planets.  

With only vague clues to guide them, Elle and her new friends must gather legendary artifacts to protect the Archive. But if they can’t unravel the ancient secrets in time, their worlds and loved ones will be lost in shadow forever.  

The Dark Stars trilogy offers a fun blend of sci-fi and fantasy adventure with a sleek high-tech skin on traditional magic, perfect for fans of Final Fantasy, Star Ocean, and Xenosaga. This series will transport you to a universe where second chances are real. Start?

©2018 A.K. DuBoff (P)2018 A.K. DuBoff

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Holly
  • 27-11-2018

If Ready Player One was a space adventure

First, let me just say the worldbuilding in this book is amazing. I've never seen anything like the blend of magic and science here, especially on such a grand scale--reality resets! It's almost like the universe is a simulation, but still real. This lends this book a bit of a gamer feel, and I love that.

The main story is about a small group of people who were pulled from an imminent threat to become heroes and save their worlds and possibly reality. The main character, Elle, is a bit of a daredevil, and dives into danger at every turn--sometimes literally--and pulls the story along nicely. There's a hint of romance, a healthy dose of RPG-style fighting, and an epic quest complete with dragons. And snark! Some good honest-to-goodness soul-searching, too. I really loved the character or Torin, who grounded the story in a big way.

The ending was great, wrapping up the quest nicely, but leaving things open for what looks like a much grander task in the next book.

I loved the narration as well, the narrator did a fantastic job.

Overall, a highly enjoyable space fantasy adventure story!

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Keith LaDue
  • 22-10-2018

This is the start of a great series

Highly entertaining. Fleshed out characters. I'll be back for more in the next book. I recommend this book and series. Now for the obligatory: "I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TU
  • 14-11-2018

Great start to a new sci fi series

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was a great sci fi/fantasy story with a strong main character and excellent world building. The narration was well done too. All in all, this was a great start of a new series. It's one I will definitely follow!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lint
  • 26-10-2018

Fantastic... Reset... Still Fantastic!

I really enjoyed this book.

The story has all kinds of interesting concepts that were well used on service of this story. I wish I could say more about this but, spoilers.

I found myself routing for the main character from the jump (you'll get it once you listen) and cheering her successes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jayde
  • 23-10-2018

A True Sci-Fi Fantasy adventure

This one would definitely fall under the category of a Young Adult coming of age story.
This story is a complete adventure in itself while setting you up for the next adventure that will continue the story.
An interesting blend of science fiction that almost completely explains the very fantasy nature of this adventure.
I enjoyed this one as it was fast paced and drew you in immediately. Also keeps your interest to the end.
Well worth the time and the credit.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kaz
  • 19-10-2018

Denisty Meets Kingdom hearts

I’d say this book was a mix of Destiny and kingdom hearts. Nice to see a father type role rather than just a ton of love interest with the M.C. Solid 4 Star book. The author has definitely played both of those games.

This was left in trade for an unbiased and honest review and in turn I was given a copy to listen to

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Layla
  • 05-11-2018

YA

This is full of action, adventure, fantasy and scifi. We don't have to wait long before things start rolling. It is an interesting read and would highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Matt K.
  • 23-10-2018

Unique start to a good YA sci-fi/fantasy adventure

I really enjoyed the start of this book; being able to reset time? Yes, please! But, and I believe it's because I don't usually delve down into YA, I found myself kind of bored with the story and characters.

From a YA standpoint, I do believe teens would enjoy this book, plot, and characters. It's a great coming of age story, the characters work together to understand and use their abilities (for good!) while working to save the world. There's budding romance, an almost hint at LITRPG with the ability to at least "upgrade" their equipment, and of course spaceships and battles! I really wanted it to, but for some reason, this one just didn't resonate with me.

I really enjoyed Kristin James' voice in this, and I think she did a great job narrating.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • KD
  • 04-11-2018

good ideas but average

The execution left a lot of be desired. The plot could have used some tightening. The narration was good especially with what they had. But overall i can't say i can recommend this book, i hope the book sequel does better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Cindy
  • 20-10-2018

Protector's

This story is written so it can be enjoyed by both adult and young adults. No silly teenage banter, just some growing and learning as they work to protect their new world.
This audio was given to me free, and I voluntarily gave this review.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful