We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Mitford Murders Audiobook

The Mitford Murders

Regular Price:$31.21
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $16.45/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret....

Based on a real unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one best-selling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Jessie Burton and Agatha Christie.

©2017 Jessica Fellowes (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (5 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (5 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (5 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • GReader
    Adelaide, South Australia Australia
    12/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not any Mitford I know"

    This book fails on several counts
    1. Nancy Mitford was not ever a rather silly girl as portrayed
    2. She would not have fraternised with a servant in the manner described
    3. The plot is implausible and relies on at least one unlikely coincidence
    4. The resolution is completely implausible
    5. The writing is competent but not gripping
    There are supposedly 5 more books in the series. I'm sorry I spent money on the first and won't be wasting time on the next five.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • cdw
    9/10/17
    Overall
    "Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!!"

    Downtown Abbey with murder!!!! And very well read. A pleasure to listen to! Looking forward to the next instalment.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs Maureen Cate
    Wollaston, Northamptonshire United Kingdom
    14/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "PREDICTABLE BUT ENJOYABLE..."

    A fiction greatly enhanced by factual persons and events. An enjoyable read with characters and events both real and invented. Basically, a light, period,detective story but none the less a worthwhile listen - especially if you are a Mitford fan.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs J A Meadows
    18/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Downtown Abbey"

    Written by Julian Fellowes not Jessica Fellowes unless I have my facts wrong .
    Book was enjoyable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs S J Davis
    11/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    I really enjoyed this who dunnit! Super plot and very well narrated. Hope there are more tales of Louisa and Guy to come.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Clare
    29/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story"

    An exciting detective story set at the end of WW1 and in the household of the Mitford sisters. You get a wonderful sense of the era and the addition of fictional and real characters adds to the excitement. A superb narrator.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    22/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "took a long time to go nowhere fast"

    struggled to finish this one. let I had to persevere. once you have read kasasian and du muriel you perhaps expect too much from a murder mystery.... slap the voice given to one of the main characters was just too much. not a fan sorry.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • taylor
    6/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "To long"

    I think that this was too long and didn’t seem to fit the period, also and it does seem a trifle not train but railway station !

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.