Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters. 

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories. 

But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret.... 

Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one best-selling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.

©2017 Jessica Fellowes (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable." (Anthony Horowitz)
"True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery." (Daisy Goodwin)

"Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders...so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one." (Susan Hill)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just dreadful

I turned this off at the eleventh minute because it uniformly awful. Every boring trope about 'what a poor girl has to do to get by' is contained in the initial minutes of Louisa's story, which seems to be a mishmash of ideas about what the author thinks poorer people had to endure post WW1. The characters are unsympathetic and the addition of Nancy Mitford is contrived and anyone who has read Mitford and biographies of the Mitford sisters will find it intolerable. I rarely return books because I think most books have some merit, even if they are not brilliant, but this is going back. I understand this is the first in a series:please, Jessica Fellowes, think again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • GReader
  • 12-11-2017

Not any Mitford I know

This book fails on several counts
1. Nancy Mitford was not ever a rather silly girl as portrayed
2. She would not have fraternised with a servant in the manner described
3. The plot is implausible and relies on at least one unlikely coincidence
4. The resolution is completely implausible
5. The writing is competent but not gripping
There are supposedly 5 more books in the series. I'm sorry I spent money on the first and won't be wasting time on the next five.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful