Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters. 

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories. 

But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret.... 

Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one best-selling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.

©2017 Jessica Fellowes (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable." (Anthony Horowitz)
"True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery." (Daisy Goodwin)

"Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders...so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one." (Susan Hill)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just dreadful

I turned this off at the eleventh minute because it uniformly awful. Every boring trope about 'what a poor girl has to do to get by' is contained in the initial minutes of Louisa's story, which seems to be a mishmash of ideas about what the author thinks poorer people had to endure post WW1. The characters are unsympathetic and the addition of Nancy Mitford is contrived and anyone who has read Mitford and biographies of the Mitford sisters will find it intolerable. I rarely return books because I think most books have some merit, even if they are not brilliant, but this is going back. I understand this is the first in a series:please, Jessica Fellowes, think again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • GReader
  • 12-11-2017

Not any Mitford I know

This book fails on several counts
1. Nancy Mitford was not ever a rather silly girl as portrayed
2. She would not have fraternised with a servant in the manner described
3. The plot is implausible and relies on at least one unlikely coincidence
4. The resolution is completely implausible
5. The writing is competent but not gripping
There are supposedly 5 more books in the series. I'm sorry I spent money on the first and won't be wasting time on the next five.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • cdw
  • 09-10-2017

Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!!

Downtown Abbey with murder!!!! And very well read. A pleasure to listen to! Looking forward to the next instalment.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-01-2018

Disappointing

Not a particularly well written story which seemed over long in the telling. The narrator rendered the characters insipid or annoying.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs Maureen Cate
  • 14-11-2017

PREDICTABLE BUT ENJOYABLE...

A fiction greatly enhanced by factual persons and events. An enjoyable read with characters and events both real and invented. Basically, a light, period,detective story but none the less a worthwhile listen - especially if you are a Mitford fan.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lorna
  • 18-12-2017

A curious endeavour

I wonder why this seemed like a good idea? A standard whodunnit with the Mitfords shoe-horned in. I'm not a Mitford expert, but it seems hard to believe that Nancy would have been quite so attached to a rather teary nursery maid with a violent uncle hanging about. And the heavy handed references to the sisters' foibles is grating (imagine - Pam loves animals and Unity is grumpy). Well read though, although the main character has a voice like a docker. All in all, I'd give it a miss.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 29-01-2018

Mitford Murders.

Could have been to!d in half the time. Few of the characters were credible. Nancy Mitford was an excellent authoress and I don't think she would have appreciated this portrayal of herself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-12-2017

Narrator is distracting

Sadly I just couldn’t get into this book, I persevered but the narrator became too annoying/distracting for me. All subjective, I know! Just not for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs S J Davis
  • 11-11-2017

Brilliant

I really enjoyed this who dunnit! Super plot and very well narrated. Hope there are more tales of Louisa and Guy to come.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Justin
  • 22-05-2018

Awful

Genuinely terrible. Makes Midsomer Murders look like quantum physics. Terrible dialogue broadly drawn from a Mary Poppins like view of London.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carol
  • 09-05-2018

Good story

Enjoyable, easy listen. Not sure that "There you go" when offering a cup of tea was a 1920s expression, and would a cafe actually serve bacon sabdwiches mid-afternoon in that era? Al in all a good yarn.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • White Socks!
  • 16-04-2018

Wonderful whodunit!

Great story, with a few twists.
The characters are brought to life by a superb narration.

Very enjoyable.