Regular price: $29.96

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. For fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.

©2016 Sarah Hilary (P)2016 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity." (Cath Staincliffe)
"Written with the verve and assurance of a future star." (Steven Dunne)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie
  • 18-04-2016

Fantastic

Best book I've listened to in ages, brilliantly written, great story and well narrated - Sarah Hillary is amazing

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jaye
  • 15-08-2016

Unmissable book!

Having read books one and two and really enjoying them, I wondered whether this book Would be as enjoyable, well I was wrong, Sarah once again kept the main characters but there are undertones from the two previous books mainly to do with Di Marnie Rome's character and her past namely Stephen the young man who committed a horrific crime that touched Marnie's life personally. I will say no more well worth reading the books in order. I like the way Marnie's character grows as a person in her job and in particular her relationship with her colleague Sergeant DS Jake they work so well as a team. My only qualm was that I was time short as I would have liked to have completed this book in one sitting. If you like thrillers then this book is for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Colette
  • 14-04-2016

Loved it

Another great addition to this series. Really interesting well developed story. Brilliant narration. Roll on book 4.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lee-Anne Williamson
  • 31-01-2018

Fantastic!

The Marnie Rome stories keep getting better, I'm really looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lorna
  • 23-09-2017

Third book of the series & still going strong!

I have really enjoyed this series and this book is no exception, twisting and turning to the very end and superbly narrated as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 18-09-2017

Brilliant

Brilliantly read, well done Imogen Church, will be on the look out for more of your audio books best wishes Jeannette allerston 😊 x

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • clare stewart
  • 12-04-2016

It was ok

This seemed to go on and on and on, and could have lost a few chapters. It's not as good as previous books. DI Rome is just a bit boring I'm afraid!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful