Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $47.68

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first audiobook in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls - one human, one Made - whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now, Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death...by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier. 

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

©2019 Nina Varela (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Crier's War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not bad but not good

Firstly, the narrator was very over dramatic. She would make even the most mundane sentence sound dramatic and when anything actually happened I just didn’t care. I felt burned out listening to it.

The rest of the story is ok. It’s faults aren’t unforgivable. I just felt like this story didn’t bring anything new to the table (except I suppose for the sapphic romance). It was very predictable and I felt the ending was lacklustre. The romance was slow burn without any real pay off. Compared to other things I have read this just doesn’t measure up.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for April Ohms
  • April Ohms
  • 23-11-2019

the ending was so unsatisfying

i really loves the lore and story telling of this book, but the ending sucked and kinda ruined it for me. It felt like they where just breaking off the story to make you buy the sequel that I assume is coming out. The romance never gets resolved, the conflict only got worse, leaving the main character in a sucky situation, then just ended. it really ruined it for me. I wouldn't recommend this book, unless the sequel comes out and you're willing to pay for 2 books just to get a satisfying story.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaclyn679
  • Jaclyn679
  • 13-01-2020

Effortlessly captivating

This book was very different from what I expected, but in the loveliest of ways. Crier and Ayla’s relationship was really moving, as it's fragile, and timid, but still moving and emotional. I enjoyed the political unrest throughout the chapters, and watching the characters try to navigate this world. The story embraces a lot of diversity, betrayal, enemies and self discovery. Lots of strong female characters, which is a win for me! I would like to know a lot more about the characters and the world, so I'm hoping that there is more to come.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zaid
  • Zaid
  • 12-01-2021

Just stick with it.

After you are bombarded with so much information the story starts to get good. Ends early. The 2 books could’ve been one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VolcanicAsh
  • VolcanicAsh
  • 17-06-2020

Worth the read

I really really enjoyed this book. It was entertaining the entire way through and I couldn’t stop listening. I was iffy on the narrator at first but after a chapter or two I wondered why I was iffy on it in the first place.

This book delivers a great balance of adventure, mystery, and romance and I can’t wait for the sequel. Ignore any potential bad reviews you may read because if the synopsis sounds interesting to you I promise you will enjoy this book. Definitely became an instant favorite for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-04-2021

Many plot holes, queer baitish and breathy narrating.


I didn’t have very high expectations for this book, I chose it bc it had a beautiful cover, it was long, and it was a decently reviewed w/w novel. While the book started off with a more context crowded timeline and plot holes than my girlfriend could handle (she powered through to chapter 5 before stopping) I really wanted to see this one through (gritted teeth)

While I feel the narration was breathy all around and monotone in some places, it also managed to be more emotional than the Automa characters were described. This made some behavior seem ooc imo.

One thing I wish I had known in advance is that the protagonists, Ayla, was not only bisexual but her male best friend crossed her physical boundaries more than once. The author writes her reactions to this in a realistic way, in that she does nearly nothing about you it despite an inner monologue of slight protest and discomfort. What’s wrong with this is that there is zero self awareness of how he is being inappropriate and she is not communicating her boundaries.

As far as this novel being unapologetically queer, there’s many offhand mention of characters you never meet being in same sex relationships but the focus romance really left me wondering if this was a queer bait novel and would have been better off representing asexuals. (Whome I love and adore and feel deserve more honest honorable rep)

-SPOILER WARNING-
I almost forgot, 7h into this 11h audio book is when you FINALLY get their first and LAST kiss of this book. They then almost immediately become adversary’s again.
-END SPOILER-

If you don’t mind everything mentioned you will enjoy the interesting plot. I will be reading the next book, fsag, and so I can leave another review. I need closure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sketchyroos
  • Sketchyroos
  • 17-03-2021

So there I stood..

There I was, looking for a book that had story, life, power. I wanted something with strong characters writhing and fighting for what they wished. I didn't want the classic "boy saves world" story. I wanted pain, reality, hope. When I finished listening to this book, I sat down hard in a chair and stared at the wall across from me, wide eyed.
I struggled at first when reading this book. But please, dear reader, push through. The ending made me -feel-. There are reviews about this book saying the end is terrible, that the two books could be one, I disagree. Those who left those reviews did not finish the first book completely. they got to the heartbreak that happens with one hour left, then stopped. The journey these characters make? Could not have been one book. That would have been a book to rival the size of the Stand by stephen king, or Brandon Sanderson's storm light archive. This book is more than worth the purchase price. I have finished it, and feel like my life is changed. I cannot wait to read the second to find out everything that happens. No review would do this book justice, but I have done what I could. Give this book more than a chance, you will not regret it. Finish it, feel the pain, the loss, the HOPE, the LOVE. Good luck, happy reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maggie
  • Maggie
  • 02-03-2021

Stick it out

I am so glad I came back to this book after being "meh" on it before. Wow! Just finished it and am grabbing the sequel immediately. Don't be impatient like I was on the slowness of the first few chapters. Stick with it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kendra
  • Kendra
  • 10-02-2021

Imaginative

This story from start from finish had me on my toes. It was so imaginative but also relevant in ways. On to the second book. Ha.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dames
  • Dames
  • 27-01-2021

It’s gay and it slaps

Excellent world-building and character depth. It will be one I read again. The narrator was slow, so I cranked it to 1.2x, but it didn’t detract from the story.

The primary relationship feels natural and perfectly sapphic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Destiny S.
  • Destiny S.
  • 22-10-2020

Depressing, but good

The performance was so raw, and emotional, it was worth the read on that alone.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.