Get Your Free Audiobook

City of Ghosts

Narrated by: Reba Buhr
Length: 5 hrs and 2 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (17 ratings)
Non-member price: $20.47
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead...and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. 

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. 

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift", she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil - and herself. 

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. 

New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost...).

©2018 Victoria Schwab (P)2018 Scholastic Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent storyline

Never got boring, thrilling to the end. Was a marvellous novel that was easy to follow but still had enough mystery and uniqueness to leave you wondering. I hope there are sequels, I want to know what happens to Jacob.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R. Havens
  • 07-10-2018

Beautiful YA offering from Victoria Schwab

Great story and narration. Schwab's storytelling has never disappointed me, and this YA book is no exception. Since it is YA rather than some of her adult offerings, some who come to this book from her others may be a little surprised at the lighter tone and more straightforward storytelling. However, she doesn't condescend to her audience and offers a rich, interesting story with great characters (where Schwab shines brightest) and a compelling story line. The narrator does the story justice, as well, which is important to a well-executed audiobook!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jeffrey B (Pool) Nattania
  • 29-09-2018

Intended for a Younger Crowd

I live anything the V Schuab puts out. I even found this entertaining; however, it is intended for a younger crowd. I would say 5th grade and up. kinda mysterious, kinda spooky, but not the typical dark, gothic, bloody, action packed Schuab that I love!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Abbey
  • 24-09-2018

Great listen

Good book, very middle grade appropriate with some good scary parts for kids. Have to say I hated how the mom was read and if she had a big part it might have ruined it for me. But since her part was small I could easily overlook it.

Overall definitely worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • debz
  • 01-03-2019

good, but not for me

The book is for a younger audience, so I didn't got that rush to devour it (in comparison with other Schawbs books)
Had to slow down the audiobook to 0.85x, because it was to fast, it sounded like someone was chasing the narrator while she was recording. Also a slower pace helps the ghost stories, the suspense...
Loved the Harry Potter references.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Aleta M. Davis
  • 13-02-2019

Excellent narration!

This was a fun and unique ghost story! Had me guessing a little, even at the end. Love how it leaves room for more. The narration was beautiful. It really made the story come alive. Loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nad
  • 06-02-2019

Must Listen, read and hopefully see!

This was the first time I ever listened to an audiobook and boy did I picked the right one! This is a must listen! Schwab is an amazing storyteller and I’m thankful for her!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Imani
  • 20-12-2018

I love V.E., and this is a great book BUT....

I do think this is definitely a middle grade book, and those who liked her dark stuff might not enjoy this. It a bit fluffy but I do think it’s great to branch out as an author. It’s not great but it’s not bad either. It was only like 5 hrs so I got through it fast while traveling. I would totally recommend this book for a young book lover! Happy reading!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • angela jennings
  • 15-12-2018

very good story...cant wait for more

This was so good. A very friendly and light read about a girl who can see ghosts and has a best friend who actually is one. A little predictable but none the less good. I enjoyed her adventured and the story of her parents being ghost hunters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lyndi Foote
  • 14-12-2018

Cute story, great listen!

I truly enjoyed this book. I wish it were longer, but I realize it's for a younger audience. I am an adult, but still love YA Novels. I highly recommend this book. I love the relationship between Cass & Jacob. All the characters were well written, and I think Reba Buhr was a great narrator!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Samantha Bakunzi
  • 03-11-2018

amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

perfect book really I'm so glad I tried it out. Awesome and I can't wait for the next one

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • NotYourAmelie
  • 09-01-2019

Pretty good teen book, but the accents?!

Interesting story, good premise. Genuinely awful accents. I say this with good humour but don't listen to this if you're at all sensitive about English or Scottish accents. Really it was very distracting and unintentionally funny!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful