Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $20.28

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A gritty and compelling drama from the best-selling author of The Orphans of Halfpenny Street.

Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Sheila Jeffries. Little twin sisters Sarah and Samantha are all alone in the world. When their mother died giving birth to Sarah, she was blamed for the death by her father, and her learning difficulties serve only to make him more angry and violent towards her. Now he's finally abandoned them both, and they've found sanctuary at St Saviour's Children's Home in London's East End. It seems they're doomed to be separated; no one wants to take Sarah on, but life apart will break their hearts.

Alice, a former worker at the home who is now a mother and happily married to Bob, finds her happiness under threat when a face from the past reappears. Jack Shaw, East End bad boy, has always been Alice's weak spot, but is she really about to throw everything away?

Angela Morton has her hands full; she's now in sole charge. But with Christmas approaching and more than one orphan in desperate need, St Saviour's is crying out for a miracle....

©2016 Cathy Sharp (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Christmas for the Halfpenny Orphans

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz
  • Liz
  • 22-10-2016

Well read albeit a slow book

I found this book boring
I think the narrator did a good job considering the material
It felt like a history lesson for children

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for miss j e austin
  • miss j e austin
  • 09-11-2020

Sweet little story, but......

.......nothing to write home about. I won't be buying the others in the series unfortunately

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beryl
  • Beryl
  • 17-07-2019

Halfpenny Orphans

I have really enjoyed this book l couldn’t stop listening to it. By the end by the end l felt as though l know all the children.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Callender
  • Anne Callender
  • 18-09-2017

great story well told

the story comes alive when you are listening it's well writen and we'll read I was really happy with this book has plenty of interest believable characters

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for steph
  • steph
  • 05-01-2017

Christmas at halfpenny

I really enjoyed this story it had lots of twist and turns in it , leaving you wanting to know more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for denise stott
  • denise stott
  • 19-12-2016

Brilliant follow up

I read the orphan s of halfpenny street which I enjoyed. The characters from that book carried on into the second book. And the story carried on. Good book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janet
  • Janet
  • 21-10-2016

TERRIBLE BORING NARRATION

Really trying to get past chapter 7 - the narration is far too condescending & samey.. its a real struggle.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.