Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $26.32

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the USA Today best-selling author of The Night Olivia Fell - an “emotionally charged mystery” (Mary Kubica, New York Times best-selling author) - comes a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets...and their deadly potential.

If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened, but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London - Kat’s former home - for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell’s I Found You and Karin Slaughter’s Pieces of Her, Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

©2020 Christina McDonald (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about Behind Every Lie

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AJ Holmes
  • AJ Holmes
  • 25-04-2020

A gasp out loud great novel!

I managed to get my hands on another great novel. Going through the journey of discovery with Eva as she tries to recall what happened the night her mother is murdered was quite revealing. At one point I was like, now wait a minute! Sometimes I speak out loud when I'm reading. Lol. I had a gut feeling about two characters and while I was glad to be right, I was truly shocked at the ultimate reveal toward the end. I was like NO WAY!!! If you're looking for a good thriller with a lot of twists and turns then, this is your go-to.

41 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KC
  • KC
  • 15-04-2020

A Great Suspenseful Book

This book has a lot of twists and turns . You have Eva with bloody hands and her Mom is on the floor dead. Eva tries to run but all of a sudden you have an explosion. This storyline is well developed with good development of characters. Eva awakens and isn't sure if she killed her Mom or was it someone else. She has lapse of memory throughout the book. You will just go with the flow of the story. It is an easy to read book. I enjoyed this book by the author of The Night Olivia Fell.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Erin
  • Erin
  • 08-02-2020

Not as good as the night Olivia fell but still good

I loved the night Olivia fell so I rushed out to get the paper back and audible of this the day it came out. I was slightly disappointed that it wasn’t as good as the other one, but it was still really good and a fast read!

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathy
  • Cathy
  • 08-02-2020

Riveting book.

Once again , could not put it down. love this book as well as her first novel. Please keep writing Christina. love your novel

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charo
  • Charo
  • 30-03-2021

Implausible to the point of Exhaustion

When an unlikely event happens to a character, the story becomes interesting, when two unlikely events happen to the same character, the plot begins to wobble, when three very unlikely events happen to the same character, the story becomes inane and ridiculous—It is no longer enjoyable.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 08-05-2021

Dumbest book of the year!

Rather than the thriller the author intended, I often found myself laughing out loud at this preposterous story. The premise was ridiculous. A man hell-bent on revenge for decades for the accidental death of his daughter was far-fetched. The main character "Eva" was so unlikeable I hoped she actually had killed her mother, although I knew she was being set up to be the heroic survivor. In spite of the fact that Eva spend most of the book in a state of self-involved hysteria trying to regain her memory, she managed to describe her environment in tedious detail, including every bit of clothing anyone she encountered was wearing All of the "surprise" elements were telegraphed so early on that there was simply no surprise at all. Calling the neighbor "Lily"? Seriously?

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam Spade
  • Sam Spade
  • 19-03-2021

If this woman can write a book, then so can I.

Yikes. I don't know which was worse--the writing or the narration. Here's an example: "I'd rather eat my right arm then stay in this hospital for one more minute." Not, "chew my arm off" but "EAT my arm". Dear God. In the hands of another writer, this could have been a good story.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bella1
  • Bella1
  • 24-03-2021

Ridiculous

A contrived and obvious plot with characters you can’t like if you try. Well narrated, however. Stuck it through to the end, just to see if it would get better. It didn’t.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for McSusie
  • McSusie
  • 17-03-2021

Too Much Work!

The story was good. Lots of twist & turns and mystery. The problem was with the narrator. It was too often hard to know which character was speaking. The women’s voices were too alike. Come to think of it, some of the men’s voices sounded exactly alike as well. I spent too much time rewinding just to figure out whether it was the mother or the daughter speaking. The story jumps around in time throughout the book. That in itself makes it difficult to follow, but then when you add in the poor performance of the women’s voices it’s just a little more tedious to listen to then I would like. I’d prefer to just lay back & listen and allow the stories to unfold and evolve naturally without constantly having to be on my toes to know which character is speaking. That’s just not enjoyable for me. I listen to relax. I love trying to solve a mystery. Which character is speaking is not a mystery I want to have to solve. It took so much away from the storyline. It could have been so much better.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AudioGirl
  • AudioGirl
  • 17-03-2021

Predictable

I was disappointed in this book. It was kind of boring and you knew who did the bad deeds an hour into it. I don't recommend it.

4 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.