Regular price: $44.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Your sister needs you. But her child needs you more.... A moving thriller with a heart-pounding dilemma: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose? Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes will love Australia's Kelly Rimmer.

As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leather-bound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears....

As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict - a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie's newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for? What do you do when your sister, an addict, tells you she's pregnant and needs your help?

Before I Let You Go is the stunning new novel from Kelly Rimmer, internationally best-selling Australian author of The Secret Daughter, Me Without You, When I Lost You and A Mother's Confession.

©2018 Kelly Rimmer (P)2018 Hachette Australia Audio

Critic Reviews

"Get ready for fireworks in your book club when you read Kelly Rimmer's Before I Let You Go! One of the best books for discussion that I've read in years." (Diane Chamberlain, New York Times best-selling author of The Stolen Marriage)
" Before I Let You Go is a heart-breaking book about an impossible decision. Kelly Rimmer writes with wisdom and compassion about the relationships between sisters, mother and daughter, aunt and niece. She captures the anguish of addiction, the agonizing conflict between an addict's best and worst selves. Above all, this is a novel about the deepest love possible." (Luanne Rice, New York Times best-selling author of Little Night)
"A deeply emotional and thought-provoking read. It was impossible to not be moved by this beautifully written book." (Vanessa Carnevale, author of The Florentine Bridge)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • V. Hills
  • Tasmania, Australia
  • 20-03-2018

Great book

Throughly enjoyed this book, great story. Really disliked the person voice who read Lexi but was to engrossed in the story to stop listening.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story.

Would have been even better except for the narrator for Lezie and Sam. Her voice was just horrid. Spoilt the whole book. I think the author should think twice about her narrating any more of her books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator for Lexie sounds like iPhone's Siri

I really liked the story but the women who narrated 'Lexie' literally sounds like iPhone's Siri. Or when you were younger and you'd type words into the old Mac computers for the female voice to read back to you. The story is good but the writing is high school quality. So many descriptive words are repeated over and over again, such as 'incredulous'. It gets a bit boring when the writer runs out of descriptive words. Also, Lexie is so unbearably annoying, narrator aside, the character herself is so frustrating. Despite the annoying robot narrator I finished the book and did enjoy most of it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing story and well read

loved this book.. didnt want to miss a word. it was also beautifully read which made listening to this even more enjoyable

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but not my favourite narrator

I struggled a bit listening to one of the narrators as her voice was quite distracting and I found it frustrating listening to the added drama in her tone, however the story was good and I eventually got a bit more used to it. Might just be that I’ve been listening to a lot more Australian narrators, so perhaps try the sample before purchasing!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book. You must read this.

This was an honest and spot on portrayal of the relationship between two sisters. One is the responsible one who tries to fix everything even when she cant. But she is also an enabler. The other is the dependent sister. You could substitute parent / child in this all too common story of the tragedy of drug abuse where the supporting one will never give up on the other. Buts its not all sad! Kelly writes so beautifully. I will be reading her other books for sure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I really loved this one! At first the voice of Lexie annoyed my but soon it flowed and fit with Lexie’s personality! I loved the way this book flowed between the two sisters POV. Just a wonderful and heartbreaking story!