Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The body slumps over the steering wheel. Pools of blood going tacky on the dash. Two shots to the back of the head. A mafia-style hit in a small town.

Special Agent Violet Darger must make sense of this savagery - figure out how brutality like this could happen in rural Michigan.

The victim had been living the American dream. A small-business owner who built a construction empire. Started a family. Coached youth hockey. He seemed to have it all.

But his surface life didn’t tell the full story. He carried dark secrets to the grave. Left clues which offer more questions than answers, clues that seem to lead Darger to Detroit.

In the city, she finds despair. Corruption. Decay. Blocks of vacant buildings line the streets. Crumbling. Caving in. It resembles ancient ruins more than a modern American city. Concrete caverns waiting to be explored. And there, among the rubble, she gets swept up in the hunt for a notorious hit man.

He kills for profit. Navigates the brutal world of organized crime. Harbors secrets of his own, albeit domestic ones. He holds the answers to all of Darger’s questions, but only if she can catch him.

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you on the edge of your seat until the final page. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Lisa Jackson should check out the Violet Darger series.

The books in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab Bad Blood and get started today.

©2018 L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain (P)2018 Smarmy Press

What listeners say about Bad Blood: A Gripping Crime Thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill B
  • Jill B
  • 08-08-2020

good but...

the story is engaging, the characters likeable, but it is irritating how much the main character is constantly such a lone wolf, breaking protocol when it isn't necessary for the story, and ends up causing the death of a coworker and usually injury to herself. it isn't necessary and with a few small changes the stories would be just as good and far less irritating. a strong female character can be just as strong when playing by the rules.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zeth
  • Zeth
  • 26-10-2020

Very disappointing!

I have read the previous books and was totally disappointed by this one. Agent Darger has been an annoying character who draws no sympathy from the reader, rather just a disinterest. This ended the Agent VD saga for me.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-10-2020

same old

these books are becoming too unrealistic.i really enjoyed the first few but every one is darger physically getting into a it with a killer and the killer dying. it'd be great if one got arrested just once. I'm probably done with the series after this one.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for buzzknit
  • buzzknit
  • 19-09-2020

There is no "I" in team

This character is sorely lacking in so many skills. That she's an FBI agent is scary on its own let alone this is fiction. I enjoy books with strong, smart female leads - Violet is sorely lacking in the smarts department. I'm done with this series and maybe the best thing is for Violet to find a new job. While she was gathering information she was not able to trust anyone more than herself and unfortunately an innocent was killed and the outcome could have been much better if she'd communicated with people she trusted. Oh well - no more Darger for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr. Bel
  • Dr. Bel
  • 22-05-2020

Love me some Darger!

The narrator is fabulous and really makes the characters come alive. Although the basic premise of the book is nearly identical to the previous installments, the actual storyline along with the character development and the mix of colorful language, romance, violence, and humor that I suppose only a partnership like that of Vargus and McBain could concoct more than makes up for it. I think I'm downright addicted to this series at this point and I'm looking forward to the first of the books focusing on Loshak. In fact, I downloaded it before I started listening to "Bad Blood," so I'm going to start listening right now!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ms violet
  • ms violet
  • 13-04-2020

HARD HEADED VIOLET DOES IT AGAIN

Violet drives me crazy! She is so stubborn. But that makes me anxious to read the book. LOL🤗🤩

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy Ruth
  • Wendy Ruth
  • 13-07-2019

Skip this one.

Have followed this series. Writing is decent, characters were initially interesting. This one was not worth my time. Incredibly gory about a gangland murder squad. Plotless. The attempt to lead the reader to empathize with the “assassin” for the squad was disheartening. Violet really loses her way in this one. Stopped halfway and skipped to the last chapter and wasn’t surprised at the ending. Was in keeping though with the unbelievable and conspiracy theory land tale. Narrator as always more than decent.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sajecha
  • Sajecha
  • 17-04-2019

I do not recommend

This book is terrible. The writing was good the gore A plus but the plot was so unbelievable. Darger the MC I hate, Loshack was growing on me but then he sucked too, Lucke I liked in book 1 and hated in this book, too political in this book and it was done so wrong. Nothing involving investigating skills was done right, the FBI in this book was worse than the local police department in terms of investigation and operations, and everything was so wrong. Darger can’t keep a gun to save her life and literally she hasn’t . She’s been shot (multiple times), hit (multiple times), drugged, stabbed, handcuffed, abducted, she’s been in a violent car crash, and the only thing missing was being burned but she managed to burn a shed but she never dies. She caused so many people to die and she never got reprimanded or written up. Owen her boyfriend she left for the FBI and now she kind of sort of left the FBI. I don’t know at this point. I’m not reading any more of these Darger books anymore. The series instead of improving got worse. This is laughable. I’m done. I don’t recommend this series at all unless you want to be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy
  • Tracy
  • 01-03-2019

Not up to the series standards

I have loved the previous Darger books but I can't get into this one at all. I finally gave up on it and I never do that but I just couldn't do it anymore. I'm not a fan of the cataracts or the story line and the writing style seems different. I stopped on chapter 25 and I felt like we're hasn't seen much of Darger. Very disappointing

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann E Osborn
  • Ann E Osborn
  • 02-01-2019

Disappointing

I am sorry you took a great female character and turned her into the consummate victim! I have loved your other books. This one is I had to force myself to finish and am so sad about Violet’s weak end.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.