Get Your Free Audiobook

Atlantis Gold

Omega Files Adventures, Book 1
Narrated by: Matt Standley
Length: 8 hrs and 37 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A global search for the mythical lost city...a ruthless underground consortium.... One man's quest to find the ultimate treasure and give it back to the world....

Egypt, 1938

A leading archaeologist vanishes while exploring a newly discovered chamber inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. 

Mediterranean Sea, Present Day

Ex-US Navy specialists Carter Hunt and Jayden Takada are working one of their first jobs in civilian life - repairing a subsea data cable for an international telecom company - when their mini-sub is attacked by persons unknown wishing to stem the flow of information in and out of Egypt. 

They survive the encounter only to receive a call from Hunt’s ex-girlfriend, Dr. Madison Chambers, an archaeologist currently on an excavation at the Great Pyramid of Giza. She has a most unusual request - she needs someone to scuba dive inside the pyramid. Hunt agrees to help, but soon finds out that the same people behind his close call on the data cable are also interested in what has been found in the pyramid.

Before long, Hunt and Takada find themselves on the run from a shadowy criminal enterprise that will stop at nothing to obtain artifacts that appear to lead to nothing less than the lost city of Atlantis.

A trail of clues looks like it will lead the accidental explorers to legendary riches of unfathomable worth, but will they be able to safeguard them from those who would do anything to control ancient secrets?

©2017, 2018 Rick Chesler (P)2018 Rick Chesler

Critic Reviews

"Ancient mysteries, global conspiracies, and nonstop thrills! Books like these are the reason I love action-adventure! Fans of Clive Cussler and James Rollins will find treasure within the pages of Atlantis Gold!" (David Wood, author of the Dane Maddock Adventures)

What listeners say about Atlantis Gold

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard S. Swol
  • Richard S. Swol
  • 09-03-2018

A Good Story With Horrible Narration

This is, no surprise, an adventure story regarding finding the lost civilization of Atlantis. The title pretty much lays that out. This is not an overly fanciful adventure with super technology or magic or the like. This takes a pretty realistic path to the end result. It also sets up a potential series of novels.

The story is reasonable and entertaining. Characters are likable and mostly pretty realistic in their characterization. Notable exception being Jaden, who is characterized as a smart-ass side kick. Your typical movie humorous side kick type of thing. Still, not bad.

The bad part of this is the narration.
It. Is. Horrible.
It seems as if it were being read by an AI and not a person.
Monotone.
No inflection.
Pronunciation is off in many cases.
If you ever have had an Amazon Echo read a Kindle book to you, then you know EXACTLY what this sounded like.
The editing was weird as well - like they recorded a first time table reading of the book. Some lines are partially repeated - not a standard repeat due to an interruption on your phone kind of repeat, you can tell this is in the actual recording.
Weirdly it will randomly, it seems, repeat the last 3 or 4 works immediately after saying them. It is infrequent to start with and more noticeable toward the last half of the book.

I want to like this book because it could be the start of a great series I think. But it needs a different narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David
  • David
  • 16-11-2019

Problems with recording

There are problems with this recording. Sentences are repeated throughout like there is a glitch in the recording. The narration is horrible. I liked the story though so I powered through to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Phyllis
  • Phyllis
  • 17-06-2020

Worst narration ever!

This might be an ok story but I could not finish it because of the narration - total flat tone with no inflection at all and mispronunciation of a lot of words (especially places).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Blair Darby
  • Blair Darby
  • 16-03-2020

Great blending of Styles, vision and content

I love the mixture of fascination, suspense and intrigued. Very well written. Never a dull moment. Great pace that keeps moving with excitement

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pat
  • Pat
  • 14-03-2020

exceptional

I found myself a fan. Gripping, archeological, tense, action and reaction Personally the gold pyramid strayed to much from the storyline. I kept thanking alternative scenarios that would provide the same area of tension and tenacity. Maybe it just stayed to far from reality in that part, when finding a buried city that was in the Bimini area when they pulled that rock step up and they went down into the road with imagination and dangers that were uncommon, but not that far off the grid of belief. I wrote further off the path than you and have scratched for later inclusion after I think and find a better place to put that one part I happen to like. Still it was the first book you wrote and good enough to buy book 2. Congrats

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rowanoak
  • rowanoak
  • 17-09-2019

Good Story bad narrator

Overall the story's pretty good. Unfortunately it is greatly overshadowed by an incredibly monotone narrator . Also if a great deal of the book is going to take place in the Azores please make sure the narrator can say Azores words properly .As someone who lives in an area with quite a few descendants from that part of the world around this part of New England It is quite upsetting to hear him repeat the words several times in one paragraph and butcher it no matter which voice hes using for which character.