Try free for 30 days

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Ariadne cover art

Ariadne

By: Jennifer Saint
Narrated by: Kristin Atherton
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The mesmerising retelling from the woman at the heart of one of Ancient Greece's most famous myths.

Ariadne, Princess of Crete and daughter of the fearsome King Minos, grows up hearing stories of gods and heroes. But beneath the golden palace something else stirs, the hoofbeats and bellows echoing from the Labyrinth below. Every year its captive, the Minotaur—Ariadne's brother—demands blood.

When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne sees in him her chance to escape. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that drawing the attention of the mercurial gods may cost her everything.

In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to risk everything for love ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?

Ariadne gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths. Beautifully written and completely immersive, this exceptional debut novel is perfect for fans of Circe, A Song of Achilles, and The Silence of The Girls.

©2021 Jennifer Saint (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Exquisitely written and exceptionally moving, this is a mythical retelling to savour." (Elodie Harper, author of The Wolf Den)

"A lyrical, insightful re-telling." (Daily Mail)

"If you like Madeline Miller's Circe and Song of Achilles, you will eat up Ariadne.... Saint makes it a page-turner." (Glamour)

More from the same

What listeners say about Ariadne

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

HARD ONE

It is hard to tell if I like the telling of the story.
The story of Ariadne is Immortal
The dialogue in this is a bit whiny
Feminist undertones and such
Bashes men wherever it can, unless of course the man is a sissy cuck

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

so much I enjoyed

I enjoyed this retelling that was very different to previous versions of the story I have heard. well written and the voice actor was great. at times it kind of almost felt like pandering to female readers

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked me in from the get go

The performance was amazing and the story itself sucked me right into the world. I’ve been unwell and havnt been able to engage with screens a lot so being able to put this on and lay back was a great respite.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

Loved it! Wonderful telling of intimate personal experience that seamlessly merged the real lives of the ancient Greek world with the mythical. Will satisfy male and female readers alike and offers deep insights into the meaning of the Greek gods.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fascinating Retelling of the Ancient Myth

My knowledge of Ariadne ended on the beach so it was fascinating to read on with this new and vibrant retelling. Ariadne is such a strong and resilient character - a delight to read her story, beautifully told by the author, and read with drama and authority by Kristin Atherton.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good!

A riveting story with plenty drama and an exciting take on an ancient myth.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 18-07-2022

loved it

great story. well written & read. I liked seeing a different version of Dionysus than have seen before. didn't expect the very end, but found it quite beautiful.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but tedious writing style

I thoroughly enjoyed the story, but the author uses too many descriptive words to describe the protagonist's thoughts when a few words would have sufficed. The internal dialogue just goes on and on and on... It really distracts from the storyline and sometimes I wished the author would just get on with it and tell the story rather than give another monologue. Other than that the book covers a lot of ground plot wise and fleshes out the myth of Ariadne in a surprising way.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely retelling

Love the modern retelling of myths from the bronze age especially from a women's point of view. This one is excellent plus the narrator is wonderful with her voice characterisations and emotional input.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

The ability to take a well known mythology and provide an unexplored character perspective in such a way that it reveals new lessons is a gift.
The Narrators ease in the language and tones used by the author truly captures the way all mythology is retold by a true Bard.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.