Try free for 30 days

  • An Aura of Mystery

  • Ellie McEwan Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Sophie Rundle
  • Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (149 ratings)

A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook free.
1 credit/month after trial—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
An Aura of Mystery cover art

An Aura of Mystery

By: Joy Ellis
Narrated by: Sophie Rundle
Free with 30-day trial

$16.45/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $28.87

Buy Now for $28.87

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The newly-discovered novel from multi-million-selling author Joy Ellis. Never before published!

Flower shop owner Ellie McEwan is driving home late one frosty November night when a shadowy figure leaps into the road out of nowhere. Ellie swerves to avoid him — and slams head-on into the crash barrier.

Days later, Ellie wakes up in hospital — and notices there’s something different. Everyone she looks at — the doctor, the nurse, her friend Carole — is surrounded by a coloured aura. Her near-death experience seems to have given her a new ability.

And now Ellie must use her new-found gift to catch a killer.

The battered body of a young woman is found in the grounds of a local hotel. She’s the third woman to be murdered in this sleepy Surrey village, her hands crushed and mutilated. Just like the other two.

Each of the women was a skilled professional — a musician, a doctor and an artist. Apart from that, they appear to have nothing in common.

And now the police’s one lead — a key witness — is missing.

Although sceptical, a desperate DCI Bob Foreman calls on Ellie for help. But Ellie’s involvement in the investigation will throw her into the path of a brutal killer . . .

DISCOVER A TOTALLY ENTHRALLING MYSTERY.

This utterly gripping crime thriller is perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, J.D. Kirk, Elly Griffiths, Susan Hill, Kate Ellis or Ann Cleeves.

©2024 Joy Ellis (P)2024 Audible Ltd.

What listeners say about An Aura of Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved the combination of the mystical with the everyday.

Nothing to dislike and I can’t wait to start the second book in this series. I enjoyed the mystical side to this story and found the characters believable and endearing. More please.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What a fantastic book this is. The characters and the plot were so well written and came together perfectly. The narrator is very well matched and read. In the Foreword beautifully.
Joy tells the reader (or listener in this case) that it was one of her very first books and was ‘put away’ until she retrieved it many years later, dusted it off, made some very minor changes and published it.
It’s not based on the Fenns but does feature a strong female protagonist… or three.
Without wanting to give away too much, that the mode of capturing the murderer is so different to the norm for her work, made it all the more interesting for me. About to start the second book now!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Roller coaster of twists and turns.

It’s hard to believe that this was her very first book. The story is gripping and held me up all night listening. The plot just twists and turns in a constant battle on trying to figure out the killer. A must listen for any murder mystery lovers.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow going

I really liked the concept and overall story line but it was very slow going and almost boring in some places.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Most unusual

Although this is not the usual genre I would choose I found this book compelling. I was intrigued by the subject and had to keep listening to understand the eventual outcomes. I will definitely be listening to the sequel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The mix of crime with paranormal

I like the books by Joy Ellis, but this one was a surprise: it wasn’t her usual crime story, but a combination of crime and mystical/supernatural. As usual it was very well researched and kept me “ on my toes”. The performance was wonderful. I totally enjoyed this book and can only recommend it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just brilliant

All I can say is thankyou Joy for believing in yourself. What a wonderful beautiful story. Thankyou

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If that's the first book...

A great book, albeit showing its age with references to WDC etc🙂
A good story line in my opinion, well read and a slight twist at the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this

Really enjoyed this book. A bit predictable but the story was good and the narrator was excellent.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This needs to continue as a series!

I can’t believe this book sat hidden in a box for such a long time. I loved it. Great storyline, interesting characters and so well narrated. I know there is one more book, but i hope that many many positive reviews will coax the author into writing some more…

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.