Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The unforgettable story of four women who, through grit and ingenuity, became stars in the cutthroat, high-stakes, male-dominated world of venture capital in Silicon Valley and helped build some of the foremost companies of our time.   

Described as 'the book that the world needs right now' (Adam Fisher, author of Valley of Genius) Alpha Girls is perfect for fans of Hidden Figures, Lean In and The Social Network.   

In Alpha Girls, award-winning journalist Julian Guthrie takes listeners behind the closed doors of venture capital, an industry that transforms economies and shapes how we live. We follow the lives and careers of four women who were largely written out of history - until now.  

  • Magdalena Yesil arrived in America from Turkey with $43 to her name and would go on to help Marc Benioff build Salesforce.  
  • Mary Jane Elmore went from the cornfields of Indiana to Stanford and on to the storied venture capital firm IVP - where she was one of the first women in the United States to make partner.  
  • Theresia Gouw, an overachieving first-generation Asian American from a working-class town, helped land and build companies including Facebook, Trulia, Imperva and ForeScout.  
  • Sonja Hoel, the first woman investing partner at Menlo Ventures, invested in McAfee, Hotmail, Acme Packet and F5 Networks as well as founding an all-women's investment group and a national nonprofit for girls.  

These women, juggling work and family, shaped the tech landscape we know today while overcoming unequal pay, actual punches, betrayals and the sexist attitudes prevalent in Silicon Valley. Despite the setbacks, they would rise again to rewrite the rules for an industry they love. Alpha Girls reveals their untold stories. 

©2019 Julian Guthrie (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"Alpha Girls is the book that the world needs right now...If you are a woman who works, or simply work with women, Alpha Girls is essential reading." (Adam Fisher, author of Valley of Genius: The Uncensored History of Silicon Valley)

"A revelatory, riveting journey into a part of Silicon Valley's history that has been overshadowed for far too long. Through vivid prose and artful story-telling, Julian Guthrie brings to life the nuanced tales of the struggles and successes of women in the technology industry." (Ashlee Vance, author of Elon Musk

What listeners say about Alpha Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love it. Thank you for sharing your story

It's a very inspiring book... I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks thanks thanks thanks thanks thanks

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marilize Redelinghuys
  • Marilize Redelinghuys
  • 12-04-2020

Awe Inspiring!

Many thanks for the great trail blazers depicted in this book. It was inspiring to hear how you have overcome the male dominance in your field!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-06-2020

An incredible book !

An absolutely incredible and the only book about women in venture capital! Fascinating and exciting, I highly recommend it !

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.