Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $38.13

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween listeners in grades seven to eight, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 

Sixteen best-selling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. 

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman - who both contributed stories to this edition, as well - the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong. 

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. 

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile listeners from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times best-selling Because You Love to Hate Me

©2018 Ellen Oh, Elsie Chapman (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janice Knepp
  • Janice Knepp
  • 06-06-2019

Magnificent

I loved this collection of stories they were so well done and the narrators brought these stories to life!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-05-2019

great stories, terrible narrators

I loved these stories, but the narrators were terrible. the man's female voices were ridiculous and the woman pronounced many Korean words incorrectly, though I can't speak for words from other languages. she should have learned the words before narrating a book where she would have to say the several times.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.