Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $42.90

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An instant New York Times best seller!

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction - from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times best seller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal - kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia’s freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic...requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

"Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List") 

©2020 Roseanne A. Brown (P)2020 HarperAudio

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 19-06-2020

convoluted and confusing

interesting setting but the story and magic systems were way too convoluted and confusing. The Romance also just wasn't hitting it for me, the girl was so wrapped up in her own problems that the guy was an afterthought for her. felt like she pity him more than liked him.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-08-2020

A truly unique and beautiful tale....

A whirlwind adventure tale about love, loss, anger and magic. I loved every moment of this unexpected, beautiful story Rosanne weaved for us. Karina is already soaring to the top of my favorite characters list. I love her anger, I love her moral compass and I absolutely admire her strength. I truly cannot wait to see where the next book takes her. I can't wait to see her take back her kingdom. A true queen.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wrtiersbloc
  • Wrtiersbloc
  • 13-08-2020

Slow

The story was kind of drawn out and I listened to the end of it on fast forward just wanting to be done.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Geib
  • S. Geib
  • 27-09-2020

No words

It's impossible to find the right words without spoiling some aspect of the story. It's just so good! The world building and the depths of the characters are fantastic, and the themes are refreshingly different than what've become tropes within the fantasy genre.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cassandra Buziba
  • Cassandra Buziba
  • 02-07-2020

Kinda slow in the beginning

Overall the story was good. a little slow in the beginning though. I had to start it over and over again just to fully understand everything.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 13-10-2020

Great story, beautiful performance!

This book was absolutely lovely! Especially 3 dimensional characters for a YA fantasy, world building that draws you in, and a story with twists and turns you always feel like you should have expected (the best kind). No fantasy world holds up to infinite scrutiny, but this is the kind that makes you feel like you don’t have to poke at it. In short, it’s beautifully crafted. The performance is well suited to the story, with two different narrators (one for each limited omniscient viewpoint). The narrators carry the story well, and stay understated enough to leave room for the listener’s thoughts and interpretations. There are some distinctive voices, but none that feel out of place and no drastic tonal shifts that take the listener out of the story. They both were fantastic.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michaelle
  • Michaelle
  • 08-08-2020

Great

My mother and I both enjoyed the book. I can’t wait for book 2. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucretia T.
  • Lucretia T.
  • 27-10-2020

Beautifully written and Amazingly told!

amazing and original characters and powers. and the main characters arc wasn't corny like some in this genre can be.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daniel C.
  • Daniel C.
  • 02-09-2020

I’ve been waiting for a book like this!

I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed listening to this book. The story is fast paced and every chapter Is exciting. I usually do not enjoy audiobooks with multiple narrators but it really worked here. Karina was the perfect heroine, strong headed and willful but not to the point of stupidity. I wanted to shake Malik a couple of times but that’s a testament to how well written and engaging the characters were. I CAN’T WAIT for Book 2.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Morgan
  • Morgan
  • 30-11-2020

slow start but strong finish

great narrator, but the start was rough. very little explanations of what terms used mean.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Avid Reader
  • Avid Reader
  • 17-06-2020

Great story marred somewhat by a US accent

In looking for stories featuring diverse characters NOT being oppressed or abused by white populations, this was a welcome find. The writing is rich enough to be studied and the content appropriate for middle teens. As I wanted a book to share with my kids and students showing non-white heroes, it was disappointing to hear the American accent. If I compare it to the narration of Children of Blood and Bone, the story is better but I really thought the narration with the African accent helped me visualise the characters more effectively. Weirdly, with this book, I often found myself imagining white characters and had to consciously remind myself this is supposed to be set in West Africa (or at least that's where the intertwining mythologies come from). I found the characters convincing, unlike CoB&B, and the avoidance of 'instalove' made the romance more complex and believable. This is a book I will definitely add to my classroom library and encourage others to explore. I'm really looking forward to the next installation.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-10-2020

Enjoyed it

My first foray into YA fantasy and I have to admitI quite enjoyed it, looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jade
  • Jade
  • 30-08-2020

Loved it!

Loved this book! The narrators were wonderful and engaging, and the story was intriguing and heartbreaking and aaaaaa. Very much looking forward to the second book and finding out where the characters go from here.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eclectic Taste
  • Eclectic Taste
  • 13-07-2020

Brilliant story

This story keeps you wanting to see what happens next. The characters are well developed and you feel a connection with them. The two people performing the book help to bring those characters alive. I can’t wait for the next one.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.