Get Your Free Audiobook

A Secret History of Witches

Narrated by: Polly Lee
Length: 17 hrs and 33 mins
1 out of 5 stars (1 rating)
Non-member price: $30.38
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.

'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.

But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.

A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Shortlisted for the Endeavour Award.

©2018 Louisa Morgan (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss...Mesmerising." (Tish Thawer)

"Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters." (Jordanna Max Brodsky)

"A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft." (Carol Goodman, author of Incubus)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I was loojing forward to a great read. Unfortunately the story was dull and it lost my interest

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shirley
  • 02-04-2019

struggling to finish this one

struggling to finish this one went on and on l was hoped would be more real

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-03-2019

loved it

i adored this book. its is beautiful def worth listening to. especially if you like discovery of witches

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • DoodleHead
  • 28-02-2019

A Little More Research!

Although the story was fairly enjoyable, it was jarring in its Americanisms and in the inaccuracies that an American would make. A little more research would have helped. I know that these are small things, but there were so may instances that it became annoying and ruined my enjoyment of the book. And I don’t even mean The Queen Mother being a witch! - That’s not a massive give away.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-02-2019

Good

A good story following many generations of the women in one family. Well read and would recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alex
  • 05-02-2019

Great book

I really enjoyed this book, as it travels through time leading you through the history with twists and turns along the way. Beautifully written and well worth a read.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-12-2018

Nothing happens

I chose this book because it had a 5 star rating and It really is not good enough for that high accolade. The story rambles on and nothing really happens...or maybe it does at the end but I’ve lost interest and I’m moving on but I’m really annoyed I wasted a credit on the book. Personally the narrator was not to my taste either.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Ian the hood
  • 19-11-2018

A bit slow.

It started so low I nearly gave up after an hour, I persisted though. Was it worth it? For me not really. The narration was OK, nothing more. Definitely not one I will revisit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-11-2018

Engrossing

from the first paragraph this book is truly engaging with such a detailed descriptive family history it totally immerses you in the time and place it is set. a beautiful piece of work and I'm deeply hoping that there will be more

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Ms Amanda Thompson
  • 16-02-2019

I am sending this to the Queen

If you can stand to listen to the appalling mis-use of the English language from both the Author and Narrator. If you can hold your breath for longer than the narrator and then accept that she has nothing exciting to convey. Then perhaps you will reach the end of this slanderous book that I think should be placed in the garden incinerator.
The book is a sandwich without any robust filling ‘all lettuce!”
Alice (Alice in Wonderland)would most certainly say whilst looking at the author “Off with her head.”

0 of 1 people found this review helpful