Get Your Free Audiobook

A Secret History of Witches

Narrated by: Polly Lee
Length: 17 hrs and 33 mins
4.0 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.

'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.

But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.

A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Shortlisted for the Endeavour Award.

©2018 Louisa Morgan (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic Reviews

"Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss...Mesmerising." (Tish Thawer)

"Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters." (Jordanna Max Brodsky)

"A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft." (Carol Goodman, author of Incubus)

What listeners say about A Secret History of Witches

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I was loojing forward to a great read. Unfortunately the story was dull and it lost my interest

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca Jade Downey
  • Rebecca Jade Downey
  • 16-03-2020

Stop part way through

It was good, if a little Mills and Boon at points, until the queen mother appeared. We stopped listening because it was just beyond ridiculous, where before it had managed to make the unbelievable acceptable, we couldn’t go along with it anymore. Also as a pagan, the mispronunciations of the sabbats was irritating, but the mispronunciations of perfectly everyday words really took the biscuit.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for a bland
  • a bland
  • 02-05-2020

excellent

loved every min of this book especiallyas the book went through the various time scaled. highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-02-2020

Really enjoyable listen 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Really enjoyed listening to this book. A great story with an excellent narrator. Definitely recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for *cHeRyL*
  • *cHeRyL*
  • 31-08-2019

Mixed feelings

Absolutely loved it, right up until the last book, The Book of Veronica, which I just found utterly unbelievable. What a shame!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sarah
  • sarah
  • 28-05-2019

whats happening?

i got about 4 generations in before i got bored of the constant repetition great writing but i dont really know where this could go

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for samantha jane robins
  • samantha jane robins
  • 26-05-2020

A lovely listen

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a beautifully read trip though the ages, of love and loyalty, heartbreak and betrayal. I engaged with all the daughters of the goddess and their familiars. I didn’t want the book to end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-08-2019

Gripping

Beautifully read Hard to put down despite the jumping through generations making new sub stories

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaiesse69
  • Jaiesse69
  • 06-07-2019

Wonderful

Everything about this book I liked I know it’s a work of fiction but lovely to hear about 'THE CRAFT' without all the devil/god stuff that has hijacked any mention of the women who knew how to heal and nurture passing through the ages of time. So sad it had to end but ended very well

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DoodleHead
  • DoodleHead
  • 28-02-2019

A Little More Research!

Although the story was fairly enjoyable, it was jarring in its Americanisms and in the inaccuracies that an American would make. A little more research would have helped. I know that these are small things, but there were so may instances that it became annoying and ruined my enjoyment of the book. And I don’t even mean The Queen Mother being a witch! - That’s not a massive give away.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-02-2019

Good

A good story following many generations of the women in one family. Well read and would recommend