Get Your Free Audiobook

A Memory Called Empire

Narrated by: Amy Landon
Length: 15 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (33 ratings)

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A new ambassador arrives in the galactic empire’s capital to investigate her predecessor’s murder. But nothing could have prepared her for the labyrinth of intrigue ahead - which will threaten both her and the empire itself.

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the capital of the Teixcalaanli Empire, eager to take up her new post. But when she arrives, she discovers her peoples’ previous ambassador was murdered - and no one will admit it wasn't an accident. Mahit must hunt down the killer while somehow preventing the empire from annexing her home: a small independent mining station.

Yet to achieve all this she must avoid assassination herself while becoming enmeshed in the intrigues at the city-planet’s heart. And Mahit is hiding a deadly technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.   

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series, A Memory Called Empire, is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.

©2019 Arkady Martine (P)2019 Macmillan Digital Audio

Critic Reviews

"A riveting story of character interplay and politics, this audiobook features the cool, calm narration of Amy Landon. Incredibly dialogue-driven, this story requires Landon to distinguish important nuances between characters with her word emphasis and pronunciation. She does so in a way that allows listeners to become engaged with the story and easily follow the political maneuverings. Her smooth delivery combined with Martine's story makes this sci-fi audiobook perfect to absorb one's attention." (AudioFile)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting, Surprising, and Exciting

Interesting, surprising, and exciting from start to finish. Full of most compelling characters, political maneuvering and intruige, and questions of what constitutes the self, this story had pits in my stomach, fear in my blood, and smiles on my face.

In addition, Amy Landon does an excellent job at narration, though she does sound somewhat synthetic early on. It's something you get used to, and once you start to get a sense of her sheer range of voices, her narration is something I easily got lost in.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Just reading
  • Just reading
  • 08-10-2019

Simply glorious space opera

Great narration, a thought out narrative suuported by interesting characters and a penchant for city design. I came for the space empire, I left wanting to know more about The City.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-04-2019

Astonishingly good!

The story was brilliant and thoroughly enjoyable and all the characters were so interesting. I thought the sci-fi technology aspects were very cleverly and thoughtfully done and the cultural elements were really rich as well. The author created a fascinating world and described it so poetically. I can't wait for the next installment! It was read very well so that the characters were easy to distinguish and the emotion came through very powerfully. It is good to see sci-fi with such a strong cast of believable female characters leading the story. It had plenty of intrigue, politics, action, suspense and surprises!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anthony Bennis
  • Anthony Bennis
  • 05-12-2019

It's like a text to speech reader is narrating

awful. narrator is like a text to machine speech synthesiser. couldn't get past 1st chapter.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 31-10-2019

Excellent space opera

I loved this book. It's full of intrigue and questions of what a self is. Reminiscent of space operas like Machineries of Empire and Imperial Radch. This book features a female main character of humble origins set to navigate the political intrigue of a large empire. Carrying a physical recording of her predecessor as her only guide. I was also pleased to see some queerness in the book. The recording is excellent.

I got hooked on the story straight away and hardly stop listening for the want of finding out what happens next. I'll be grabbing the next installment the moment it's released.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kat Matfield
  • Kat Matfield
  • 22-07-2019

Amazing story, flat narration was a let down

I bought the audiobook after really enjoying the print book – but had to return it because the narration is such a let down. The narrator's voice is so flat and emotionless it almost sounds like Siri. I found it hard to engage with the story and dangerously easy to tune out – not a problem I generally have.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-03-2020

Great story, terrible, lifeless narrator

I quite like the book, interesting with good intrigue.
But the narrator made my ears bleed, I'm not sure if there's a weird effect in the recording or something but I can't listen to it for more than an hour at a time.
The narrator herself is distinctly average, functional, but very little variation in her voice and without life or charisma.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaun
  • Shaun
  • 28-01-2020

Heavy going!

A real struggle, like wading through treacle. I persevered as I had paid good money for the book! The strange names of the characters confused me and the narrator didn't help: she was somewhat robotic.If there is a sequel, I won't be rushing to get it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob
  • Bob
  • 02-05-2019

Speech cadence off

I gave up after ten minutes. I found the speech cadence of the reader a bit off. Sentences ended at odd inflections. The speech was also a bit emotionless.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaz
  • Jaz
  • 24-04-2019

Exceptional start to this space opera series

Really superb and on par with recent greats like ancillary justice, the expanse series.

Features palace intrigue and politics, contains several surprises and a small bit of romance.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-04-2019

good story

easy listen, narration is done well easy to follow who is speaking. liked the story, good characters think the overworld needs some more work but ok as it is.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-01-2020

Perplexing

Titled Perplexing because I have no idea why or how I got to the end of this book. The world described didn't feel tangible enough for me to want to explore it. The characters with their preposterous names acted like and spoke to each other like they were in a Nancy Drew Mystery. The plot device of the imego was not used for anything at all, it's faulty for most of the book and for me it was the most intriguing idea. I had no problem at all with the baffling names and the plots shallow twists and predictable turns (Nancy Drew). All in all I couldn’t give a flying fig about anyone or anything in this fiction. BUT I LISTENED TILL THE END….WHYYYY?