Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Her heart broke as she took in the scene before her. There were too many orphans and not enough beds. The rags they wore barely covered them, and they hadn’t eaten in days. How could anyone let innocent children live like this? She picked up a tiny baby who’d cried as she moved past his cot. “I’ll be back soon, little one.” 

Virginia, 1933: Lauren Greenwood was born to look pretty and land a rich husband. For her and her high-society family, it’s easy to forget that America is in the devastating grip of the Great Depression, where children run wild in the streets, endless queues for soup kitchens line sidewalks, and desperation hangs in the air.  

But when a young servant comes to Lauren, pregnant and begging for help, her world crumbles. Someone she loves is responsible, and when she finds out the shocking truth she must decide: Protect the Greenwood name or be cast out? 

When the servant girl is thrown mercilessly into the street, Lauren knows what choice to make. Suddenly, she is homeless and without a penny to her name - utterly broken by her family’s betrayal. 

With nowhere else to go, Lauren takes the servant to a home for unwanted children. She is appalled to find orphans living in squalid conditions, their hunger keeping them awake and making them too weak to even play. The orphanage is on the brink of closure - and those it shelters may lose the roof over their heads....

Yet Lauren refuses to allow such suffering. And when she sees an advertisement in the local newspaper, with an anonymous benefactor promising to donate money to families crippled by the Depression, it could be the answer to her prayers. Can she save the orphans - and her new home - in time for Christmas? 

A heartbreaking yet hopeful tale about a brave young woman who gives up everything to help unloved children who have nothing. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train, and Diney Costeloe will adore this poignant historical novel, which shows that a little bit of kindness can go a long way. 

Listeners absolutely love Rachel Wesson.

©2020 Rachel Wesson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about A Home for Unloved Orphans

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norie
  • Norie
  • 05-02-2021

Captivating

I absolutely loved this book! It is well written! I loved listening to it as the reader changed voices for different characters! I will definitely be telling others about this book! I couldn’t put it down! Rachel Wesson has become a new favorite author!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for travelfunlearn
  • travelfunlearn
  • 30-10-2020

I cried ny eyes out!!

Absolutely the best I have read from Ms Wesson. I read the Orphan Train series and this was even better!! I look forward to following the lives of her new characters that she brought to life. Feels like I am tracking my own family's journey through The Depression.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cmackro
  • cmackro
  • 22-02-2021

Good story premise, details not well thought out

This has all the bones of a good story. But it felt to me that was hastily written, as the details of the plot could be much more thoughtfully considered. This is the first time I’ve read this author, and am not surprised to look up her book list and see that she is pushing out work at a rapid pace. Result is a less- than-satisfying listen, even though Ms. Rodriguez does a good job as the narrator.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for liz
  • liz
  • 24-12-2020

Captivating

Absolutely captivating felt as though I knew the characters personally. Cried so many tears at the injustice but also the happy times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Nipper
  • Cindy Nipper
  • 28-10-2020

Heartbreaking yet Sweet Historical Fiction

Oh my! Just as the description mentioned, this is an extremely emotional book! Set in the Great Depression Era we learn of suffering in the fictional town of Delgany and the surrounding mountain people, as well as rich men made richer on the backs of these poorest of poor. We learn about the tragedies of the mines, the orphanages, and the love of good people. My heart was especially inpacted by the sad tale of Patty in this story!

I enjoyed the narrator for this book! Her characters very good, but the little ones' singing voices were a bit harsh to my ears!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.