Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $22.78

Buy Now for $22.78

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Evoking the golden age of crime, and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man, from one of the world’s best-selling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

A lucky roll of the dice.

California, 1949. Aloysius Archer is on his way to start a new job with a renowned private investigator in Bay Town. Feeling lucky, he stops off at a casino in Reno, where he meets an aspiring actress, Liberty Callahan. Together, they head west on a journey filled with danger and surprises - because Archer isn’t the only one with a secretive past.

A risk worth taking.

Arriving in a town rife with corruption, Archer is tasked with finding out who is doing everything they can to disrupt the appointment of a top official. Then two seemingly unconnected people are murdered at a burlesque club. In a tight-lipped community, Archer must dig deep to reveal the connection between the victims.  

All bets are off.

As the final perilous showdown unfurls, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies and finally, to prove she’s a star in the making, will Liberty have her moment in the spotlight?

©2021 David Baldacci (P)2021 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about A Gambling Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

Very entertaining story. Loved to listen rather than read. Look forward to hearing more about Archer and liberty.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

somewhat predictable with only a few twists

Perhaps I'm getting used to Baldacci and how he sets up his plots and storyline but I found it all a bit predictable.

The story wasn't as compelling as others but it was still a nice listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Very addictive. Love the narrative view off gumshoe job. This book portrays Archer journey very well

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

We have a new hero in Archer

Archer is my new hero. It’s nice to know there were such bad guys back in the 50’s. I can’t wait until we have Archer’s next case.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Balducci Delivers Fifties Flashback

Balducci provides a twisting tale of intrigue with pill box hats. Pressley's voices lack variety.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Eduardo’s voice, but not when he goes yankie

Love all of Baldacci and have read them all! Am enjoying Archer, especially as I grew up during WW2, but in Australia.
Hope you write a third Aloysius

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for orly
  • orly
  • 25-05-2021

great one !

one little think - there is no need for the "he said"/"she said" in an audio book :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anon
  • Anon
  • 21-04-2021

Gumshoe Delight

I’m sad that this book is at an end. Such wonderful, lucid writing that brings not only people but also inanimate objects to life. Rich and sumptuous to the very last. A true trip back in time that I thoroughly recommend any potential reader! Can’t wait for the next instalment.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ANN OLDFIELD
  • ANN OLDFIELD
  • 17-04-2021

Better than the first one even

I found the first one really fascinating but with this one I would have loved to be able to give a 5+. Hoping for a third book sonner rather than later. Love the characters and the "scenery"

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Callinan
  • Rachel Callinan
  • 14-05-2021

Great book, outstanding narration.

A special word for Edoardo Ballerini who is one of the best narrators I've heard.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrs.d
  • mrs.d
  • 28-04-2021

Not great

This had that sloppy formulaic ghost written feel - macho man beats up thugs (who aren’t in it long enough for it to be satisfying pay back). Two dimensional women are impressed by him for nothing much. Kind of like very boring bad Jack Reacher.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-11-2021

a well paced story.

a great story. Ms presley needs more variation in her repertoire of voices, but it didn't detract from the overall listening experience.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathy
  • kathy
  • 27-10-2021

good story

Archer is a lot like Reacher. enjoyed the plot
the reader kept the pace goi g

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 21-09-2021

Gripping.

I found this book a very good follow on from the first. The main character “Archer” stayed true to his personality portrayed in the first of (hopefully) the series. Edoardo Ballerini reads beautifully, he did the female roles in the first book but in this book Brittany Presley did the female lead. She did this very well but I am used to just one reader and found this a distraction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LFP
  • LFP
  • 22-08-2021

Took a while

It took quite a bit to get into the story and then suddenly I just didn’t want to stop listening. Excellent book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SAMM
  • SAMM
  • 21-08-2021

Excellent read

Brilliant storytelling from the talented Badicci .Set in roughly 1950s era , it is , atmospheric , entertaining. and thoroughly enjoyable Would definitely recommend this book and love his character Archer in this new series .Superb

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martin Thorne
  • Martin Thorne
  • 09-08-2021

Great follow up

Archer is a great character and atypical of the era in which the book is written! He’s slightly flawed, but has a great meal code which comes through in his personality.
The story had a good flow and at times it was difficult to switch off! Liberty Callaghan was a really good aide in the story and the 2 were building a good relationship which finally developed very late on.
I liked the theme of the story, not an unusual direction for the author but still a great story
I’m looking forward to this character being developed more and hopefully with Callaghan alongside at some point

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue B
  • Sue B
  • 21-07-2021

Can't wait for the next one

The character has really grabbed me. I have enjoyed both of the books and can't wait for the next one.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.