Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $39.50

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

In the start of an all-new series, the best-selling author of Uprooted and Spinning Silver introduces you to a dangerous school for the magically gifted where failure means certain death - until one girl begins to rewrite its rules.

Enter a school of magic unlike any you have ever encountered.

There are no teachers, no holidays, friendships are purely strategic and the odds of survival are never equal.

Once you’re inside, there are only two ways out: you graduate or you die.

El Higgins is uniquely prepared for the school’s many dangers. She may be without allies, but she possesses a dark power strong enough to level mountains and wipe out untold millions - never mind easily destroy the countless monsters that prowl the school. 

Except, she might accidentally kill all the other students, too. So El is trying her hardest not to use it...that is, unless she has no other choice. 

Wry, witty, endlessly inventive and mordantly funny - yet with a true depth and fierce justice at its heart - this enchanting novel reminds us that there are far more important things than mere survival.

©2020 Naomi Novik (P)2020 Penguin Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about A Deadly Education

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Marr
  • Rachel Marr
  • 25-11-2020

highly recommended

thoroughly enjoyed this book. can't wait for the next one. the narrator did a great job, she really enhanced the main character's narrative voice.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Semaphore
  • Semaphore
  • 26-10-2020

Excellent

A Deadly Education is a tense, fiercely unique narrative with characters you care about rapidly in a very grim setting. I look forward to everything Naomi has in store in this universe for the audience. The narrator did a great job too, very emotive performance. If I were forced to give a critique it would be that I personally prefer more descriptions of the surroundings than was provided, but I'm fairly certain that was deliberate to make the reader feel more closed in as it is not a static trait in her other books.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian
  • Ian
  • 08-10-2020

One of my favorite authors, but...

Naomi Novik is a great author. Uprooted is one of my favorite all time books...but this was disappointing. It is an example of a great idea that probably should have stayed an idea. I was looking at some of the 5 Star reviews to try and find something good to say....but I don't think we read the same book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Snaylor
  • Mrs. Snaylor
  • 05-10-2020

Unable to Finish

I’ve just started this book, I really enjoy the authors other books but really can’t listen to an angry , jeering , aggressive teen voice for a whole book/ yes I know what age group it’s aimed at. Will be returning in favour of the Kindle edition. I’m sure the story is great the telling of it no.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R S
  • R S
  • 07-10-2020

Well imagined setting

I really enjoyed this book, inspite of the narrator. Not sure if it was an accent or just odd pronounciations but what ever it was, it got a bit annoying overall.. With a different narrator I’d have given this full marks. The setting is well imagined and the main character interesting and relatable, even to a mature adult. I am really looking forward to the next intallment.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stina
  • Stina
  • 15-11-2020

Interesting story, not the perfect narrator

This is a very refreshing take on the School of Magic-trope! A perfectly wonderful unloveable heroine, and pupils from all around the world gathered in one (rather horrifying) school. Naomi Novik definitely knows how to tell a good story, and this book is no exception! Unfortunately the reader was not the best. She isn’t BAD as such, but her British accent is not quite right (she sounded so very much like an American taking care to pronounce their Ts and Aah:s, but not thinking about the other sounds). The narrator is a good reader, though, and has a very pleasant voice. Definitely recommended!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon. M
  • Simon. M
  • 21-11-2020

Excellent story and narration

The story is a refreshing take on magical education, it has all of the factional intrigues between years, student types and 'house' affiliations, but is a lot less saccharine. The narration is excellent, (I have high-register hearing loss through poor career choices which makes me wary of some female narrators), but Anisha Dadia has such a good tonal range that she conjures a compelling protagonist whilst being perfectly audible. I loved the author/narrator combination of this audiobook and will buy the next instalments without hesitation!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tim Mitchell
  • Tim Mitchell
  • 02-11-2020

Absolutely brilliant listen

From the only other review I wasn’t expecting much, but as a Naomi Novik fan I decided to give this a go. Totally worth it. In the vein of Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On, A Deadly Education gives a generation or readers starving for an alternative to Hogwarts exactly what they need. Part Battle Royale, Part wizard Hunger Games this novel turns the typical Chosen One tropes on its head and offers a manageable amount of steam punk teen angst. The narration was excellent will 100% listen again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-11-2020

sequel driven

this was fun. not quite as good as her other books, but set up a good world for future novels to exist within. but it felt like that's what she's doing, which is perhaps a bit of a shame.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew M Stephens
  • Andrew M Stephens
  • 25-10-2020

loved it

great story, refreshing take on the genre. really hoping it turns into more than a trilogy as I could read a lot of books set in this world.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charlotte
  • Charlotte
  • 17-10-2020

5 Deadly Stars!

This is one of my favourite books of the year, it's just incredible! The premise for this was absolutely excellent, a magic school where everything is constantly trying to eat you. It's like a malevolent Hogwarts and I love it. The world building was top notch, I really felt like I was there and a part of the school, it was so vivid. I loved El so much, she's just a fantastic character. This was such a wild ride and I can't wait for book 2!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.