LISTENER

Mae

  • 21
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 35
  • ratings
  • Everything Is Lies

  • By: Helen Callaghan
  • Narrated by: Anna Popplewell, Sian Thomas
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,055
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 982
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 973

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Everything Is Lies by Helen Callaghan. Sophia's parents lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find a house ringing with silence. Her mother is hanging from a tree. Her father is lying in a pool of his own blood, near to death. The police are convinced it is an attempted murder-suicide. But Sophia is sure that the woman who brought her up isn't a killer....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Genuinely Thrilling

  • By steellyn on 24-03-2018

A good read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-07-2018

The narration is great and the twists and turns kept me interested in the story.

  • Don't Close Your Eyes

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Katy Sobey, Kate Rawson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 164
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 153
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 154

A juicy, powerful listen featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart and the shocking family secrets that bind them.... Robin and Sarah weren't the closest of twins. They weren't even that similar. But they loved each other dearly. Until, in the cruellest of domestic twists, they were taken from one another. Now in her early 30s, Robin lives alone. Agoraphobic and suffering from panic attacks, she spends her days pacing the rooms of her house. The rest of the time she watches - watches the street, the houses, the neighbours.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow

  • By Anonymous User on 23-01-2018

What a story!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-04-2018

Wow! I couldn’t stop listening to this story. The narration was excellent and the storyline was enthralling. With a very unexpected twist! A great read.

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,205
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,954
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,942

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So much better than completely fine

  • By Bec on 29-10-2017

The Best Book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-2018

I absolutely loved this book. The main character was just fascinating and the plot of the book was fantastic. I listened to it at every opportunity and just couldn’t get enough! I was very disappointed that it had to end.

  • The Woman in the Window

  • By: A. J. Finn
  • Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
  • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 423
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 388
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 392

It's been 10 long months since Anna Fox last left her home. Ten months during which she has haunted the rooms of her old New York house like a ghost, lost in her memories, too terrified to step outside. Anna's lifeline to the real world is her window, where she sits day after day, watching her neighbours. When the Russells move in, Anna is instantly drawn to them. A picture-perfect family of three, they are an echo of the life that was once hers.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • not a fan

  • By Anonymous User on 30-04-2018

A very long introduction

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-04-2018

This story improved as it progressed. I couldn’t see the direction story was going to takes and initially thought it was just rambling. However I loved the analogies used throughout and as I got deeper into it I really enjoyed it.

  • The Tattooist of Auschwitz

  • By: Heather Morris
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 7 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,141
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,977
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1,978

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz and eventually made their home in Australia. In that terrible place, Lale was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - literally scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I didn' want it to end (I know that seems ghastly)

  • By Sarah on 30-04-2018

Heart wrenching

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-03-2018

An amazing story told beautifully. What a beautiful man who survived such horror with dignity and always compassion towards others. A very emotional story.

  • Salt Creek

  • By: Lucy Treloar
  • Narrated by: Ulli Birvé
  • Length: 14 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 67
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 67

In 1855 Salt Creek lies at the far reaches of the remote, beautiful and inhospitable coastal region, the Coorong, in the new province of South Australia. The area, just opened to graziers willing to chance their luck, becomes home to Stanton Finch and his large family, including 15-year-old Hester Finch. Once wealthy political activists, the Finch family has fallen on hard times. Cut adrift from the polite society they were raised to be part of, Hester and her siblings make connections where they can.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Good Aussie Story

  • By Chloe Starick on 10-03-2017

Just too slow

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-2018

I found this book to be difficult to finish. Whilst the storyline is quite interesting it seemed to take forever to actually say anything. I lost interest often and it really wasn’t until the last third of the book that I was able to maintain my interest. I found it too much of a struggle to really enjoy.

  • The Nightingale

  • By: Kristin Hannah
  • Narrated by: Polly Stone
  • Length: 17 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 315
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 283
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 288

Bravery, courage, fear, and love in a time of war. Despite their differences sisters Viann and Isabelle have always been close. Younger, bolder Isabelle lives in Paris while Viann is content with life in the French countryside with her husband, Antoine, and their daughter. But when the Second World War strikes, Antoine is sent off to fight, and Viann finds herself isolated, so Isabelle is sent by their father to help her. As the war progresses, the sisters' relationship and strength are tested.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it

  • By Ness on 10-09-2015

Enthralling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-12-2017

This is a great read. The narrator is excellent and really brings the story to life. Highly recommended.

  • The Wicked Girls

  • By: Alex Marwood
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 14 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 50
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 50

One summer morning, three little girls meet for the first time. By the end of the day, two will be charged with murder. Twenty-five years later, journalist Kirsty Lindsay is reporting on a series of sickening attacks on young female tourists in a seaside town when her investigation leads her to interview funfair cleaner Amber Gordon. For Kirsty and Amber, it's the first time they've seen each other since that dark day when they were just children.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Book

  • By Julia on 08-02-2016

Loved It!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-10-2017

This is worth a read, and will keep you interested throughout. The main character is well developed and interesting and the storyline really makes you think. Nature or nurture? Who knows?

  • The Girl with No Name

  • By: Diney Costeloe
  • Narrated by: Bea Holland
  • Length: 18 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 335
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 307
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 310

Thirteen-year-old Lisa escapes from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport and arrives in England in August 1939. She can't speak a word of English, and among her meagre belongings is one precious photograph of her family. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war in full swing, what will become of Lisa now?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • LOVED IT!

  • By Amazon Customer on 30-08-2016

A Lesson in Humanity

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-10-2017

I enjoyed this book. Given the sensitive topic, it's good to encourage us to think about the way we treat anyone 'different'. Recommended especially if you are interested in WW11 period. The book gives a very human face to the effects of war.

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 769
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 722
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 725

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Complex mystery, chilling theme

  • By Heidi on 07-05-2016

Enthralling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-10-2017

The narration was excellent. The storyline kept me on edge throughout and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.