LISTENER

Michael

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 14
  • ratings
Thirteen cover art
  • Thirteen

  • By: Steve Cavanagh
  • Narrated by: Adam Sims
  • Length: 11 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 33
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30

Hollywood actor Robert Soloman stands accused of stabbing his wife and her lover, but he is pleading that he had nothing to do with it. This is the trial of the century, and the defence want Eddie Flynn on their team. The biggest case Eddie has ever tried before, he decides to take it on despite the overwhelming evidence that Robert is guilty. As the trial starts, Eddie becomes sure of Robert's innocence, but there's something else he is even more sure of - that there is something sinister going on in the jury box.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing. Best thriller I've read in years.

  • By Barry Cotter on 19-08-2018

Outstanding narrative ..

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-2019

Can not see how anyone that likes this genre of crime / courtroom/ mystery could not like this novel . Enjoyed the narrator and the plot.. from start to finish .

Bombproof cover art
  • Bombproof

  • By: Michael Robotham
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 82
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74

Sami Macbeth is not a master criminal. He's not even a minor one. He's not a jewel thief. He's not a safe-cracker. He's not an expert in explosives. Sami plays guitar and wants to be a rock god but keeps getting side-tracked by unforeseen circumstances. Fifty-four hours ago Sami was released from prison. Thirty-six hours ago he slept with the woman of his dreams at the Savoy. An hour ago his train blew up. Now he's carrying a rucksack through London's West End and has turned himself into the most-wanted terrorist in the country.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By Janette on 04-03-2017

Dissapointing for a Robotham

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-05-2019

I found this hard work and uninspiring not sure why I battled through to the end.. sorry normally I am a huge fan.

Dead If You Don't cover art
  • Dead If You Don't

  • By: Peter James
  • Narrated by: Daniel Weyman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18

Roy Grace, creation of the CWA Diamond Dagger award-winning author Peter James, faces his most complex case yet in Dead If You Don't. Shortly after Kipp Brown and his teenage son, Mungo, arrive at the Amex stadium for their team's biggest-ever football game, Mungo disappears. A short while later Kipp receives a text with a ransom demand and a warning not to go to the police if he and his wife want to see their son alive again.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Would have been twice as good if half as long

  • By Dr. Jeannette Kavanagh on 23-06-2019

Twists and turns....

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-2018

This started a bit slow for me but I am glad I hung in...had me riveted and keen to return to it at every opportunity. Satisfying to the end ..like a good cigar each third was enjoyable and riveting to the last draw!

The Rooster Bar cover art
  • The Rooster Bar

  • By: John Grisham
  • Narrated by: Ari Fliakos
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 318
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 290
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 291

Law students Mark, Todd and Zola wanted to change the world - to make it a better place. But these days these three disillusioned friends spend a lot of time hanging out in The Rooster Bar, the place where Todd serves drinks. As third-year students, they realise they have been duped. They all borrowed heavily to attend a law school so mediocre that its graduates rarely pass the bar exam, let alone get good jobs.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A ripping good yarn

  • By Amazon Customer on 29-10-2017

Another great easy to handle story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-12-2017

Great narration always helps an audio book and this was no exception to that rule! A great story line that had you wondering till the very last paragraph .. easy to listen to and hard to turn off..

Sometimes I Lie cover art
  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 681
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 639
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 640

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Had me hooked

  • By Anonymous User on 18-07-2017

Intriguing story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-2017

An intriguing storyline excellent narration.. some people say they worked out the ending early on ... not sure how .. This had me speculating but never sure .. it dragged just a little bit was overall a worthwhile and interesting escape .

The Secrets She Keeps cover art
  • The Secrets She Keeps

  • By: Michael Robotham
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 500
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 452
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 453

Everyone has an idea of what their perfect life is. For Agatha, it's Meghan Shaughnessy's. These two women from vastly different backgrounds have one thing in common - a dangerous secret that could destroy everything they hold dear. Both will risk everything to hide the truth, but their worlds are about to collide in a shocking act that cannot be undone.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • great book. reader was a little annoying.

  • By jess on 05-02-2018

Not quite there..

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-07-2017

Not quite there but managed to hold my attention to the end . Not the standard of some of Michaels previous novels.. hang in there and you will certainly be kept entertained .. limited characters and reasonably predictable but ok.. great narration which helps enormously .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Smoke Gets in your Eyes cover art
  • Smoke Gets in your Eyes

  • And Other Lessons from the Crematorium
  • By: Caitlin Doughty
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Doughty
  • Length: 7 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 252
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 243
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 243

From her first day at Westwind Cremation & Burial, 23-year-old Caitlin Doughty threw herself into her curious new profession. Coming face-to-face with the very thing we go to great lengths to avoid thinking about, she started to wonder about the lives of those she cremated and the mourning families they left behind, and found herself confounded by people's erratic reactions to death. Exploring our death rituals - and those of other cultures - she pleads the case for healthier attitudes around death and dying.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So insightful and genuine

  • By Anonymous User on 13-03-2019

Eye opening and thought provoking!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-06-2017

If you could sum up Smoke Gets in your Eyes in three words, what would they be?

Thought provoking interesting

What was one of the most memorable moments of Smoke Gets in your Eyes?

The entire story

What does Caitlin Doughty bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

A personal inflection to the story and being inserted as an observer

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes

Any additional comments?

Very thought provoking and confronting a subject that in most case is taboo or one we tend to hide from.