LISTENER

Mrs. A.M. Andrew

Castle Cove, NSW Australia
  • 14
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 17
  • ratings
  • Walking from East to West

  • God in the Shadows
  • By: Ravi Zacharias
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 17

This is a story about an amazing man. Yet it is also everyone's story about belief - how it begins, how it grows, and the struggles associated with it. Walking from East to West is a heartfelt personal story of one man's discovery that God is the author of our destinies, no matter how dark the shadows that hide the light.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Extraordinary

  • By Mrs. A.M. Andrew on 19-06-2019

Extraordinary

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-06-2019

A simply amazing story, beautifully narrated, of God's incredible grace and favour on one man's life and the impact he has made on the world.

  • The War Nurses: A Moving Wartime Romance Saga Full of Heart

  • The War Nurses Series
  • By: Lizzie Page
  • Narrated by: Marian Hussey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 3

You will love every moment of this absolutely brilliant wartime saga, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Soraya M. Lane, and Nadine Dorries. As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young nurses become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend... 1914. Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enchanting

  • By Mrs. A.M. Andrew on 30-05-2019

Enchanting

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-05-2019

A story of loss of innocence, love, friendship and suffering as the war rages on the Western Front.

  • Penguin Bloom

  • By: Cameron Bloom, Bradley Trevor Greive
  • Narrated by: Richard Roxburgh, Edwina Wren
  • Length: 1 hr and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 8

Penguin Bloom is an extraordinary true story full of hope and courage, featuring Cameron Bloom's captivating narrative by New York Times best-selling author Bradley Trevor Greive. Penguin the Magpie is a global social media sensation. People the world over have fallen in love with the stunning and deeply personal images of this rescued bird and her human family. But there is far more to Penguin's story than meets the eye.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Such a wonderful story of hope and love

  • By Anonymous User on 29-06-2019

Touching true story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-05-2019

How love and sheer guts and determination made the unthinkable tragedy a life lesson for others

  • The Winter Horses

  • By: Philip Kerr
  • Narrated by: Edwina Wren
  • Length: 6 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    0 out of 5 stars 0

It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine. But it's 1941, and things are different this year. Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets - for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park. Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings - everything but her life. Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Captivating

  • By Mrs. A.M. Andrew on 19-05-2019

Captivating

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-05-2019

This story was beautifully written and narrated. It moved me and gave me great insight into a part of history that I am unfamiliar with. I highly recommend it!

  • Bill the Bastard

  • The Story of Australia's Greatest War Horse
  • By: Roland Perry
  • Narrated by: David Tredinnick
  • Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 84
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 83

Bill was massive. He had power, intelligence, and unmatched courage. In performance and character he stood above all the other 200,000 Australian horses sent to the Middle East in the Great War. But as war horses go he had one serious problem. No one could ride him but one man - Major Michael Shanahan. Some even thought Bill took a sneering pleasure in watching would-be riders hit the dust. Bill the Bastard is the remarkable tale of a bond between a determined trooper and his stoic but cantankerous mount. They fought together.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • brilliant book

  • By Eric on 17-08-2015

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-05-2018

I loved this story and learned so much about Australian history at the same time.

  • Critical Thinking Junkie

  • How to Develop Critical Thinking
  • By: Howie Junkie
  • Narrated by: How-To Junkie
  • Length: 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 1

Critical thinking is a skill you can use and have to improve your day-to-day function and productivity, by allowing you to think sharply and clearly to easily solve problems, and make better decisions within your life. If you are still wondering why you would need critical thinking skills, then you aren't thinking critically enough to see how much your life could improve when you start having more "aha" moments and better.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not what I was expecting

  • By Mrs. A.M. Andrew on 17-01-2018

Not what I was expecting

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-01-2018

I was very disappointed with the brief overview of the topic. I would not recommend this book.

  • You Are Free

  • By: Rebekah Lyons
  • Narrated by: Heidi Petak
  • Length: 5 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 4

We all want to know exactly what we were made for. Yet a calling feels like something for an exclusive few. You Are Free by Rebekah Lyons reminds us that God has plans for each and every one of us, and that abiding in God's presence is how we run free.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • life changing

  • By Anonymous User on 23-07-2018

Inspirational

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-2017

This is a wonderful challenge to truly comprehend all that was purchased for us at the cross.... Our freedom to live loved and work with God to set others free one person at a time, starting with ourselves.

  • I Quit!

  • Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
  • By: Geri Scazzero, Peter Scazzero
  • Narrated by: Connie Wetzell
  • Length: 5 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

Do you ever think, 'My soul can't take this anymore?' Geri Scazzero discovered real life and joy with Christ really begins when we stop pretending everything is fine. Summoning the courage to quit that which does not belong to Jesus' kingdom launches you on a powerful journey -- one that will change you and everyone around you!

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Challenging

  • By Mrs. A.M. Andrew on 24-10-2017

Challenging

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-10-2017

This is a life altering book. If you follow the God inspired writing. Highly recommend

  • The Crossroad

  • By: Mark Donaldson
  • Narrated by: David Tredinnick
  • Length: 13 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 985
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 906
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 904

On 2 September ,2008, in a valley in eastern Afghanistan, Trooper Mark Donaldson made a split-second decision that would change his life. His display of extraordinary courage that day saw him awarded the Victoria Cross for Australia, making him the first Australian to receive our highest award for bravery in wartime since Keith Payne in 1969.Yet Mark's journey to those crucial moments in Afghanistan was almost as exceptional as the acts that led to his VC.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By craig on 07-01-2016

Amazing story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-2017

A wonderful inspiration. Thanks for sharing your life, which is full of loss and challenges. Thanks also for giving insight into the modern war and its costs and consequences.

  • I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

  • By: Maggie O'Farrell
  • Narrated by: Daisy Donovan
  • Length: 5 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times best-selling author Maggie O'Farrell. It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?   

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • amazing book

  • By jude13 on 03-03-2019

Captivating

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-2017

This memoir is beautifully written and read. It is a gripping account of life and near death on too many occasions for one life.