LISTENER

Justine Connor

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 45
  • ratings
  • The Queen's Rising

  • By: Rebecca Ross
  • Narrated by: Suzanne Elise Freeman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14

A dazzling debut and the first part of a thrilling trilogy from an extraordinary new talent. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Sarah J. Maas. Born out of wedlock, Brienna is cast off by her noble family and sent to Magnolia House - a boarding house for those looking to study the passions: art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge. Brienna must discover her passion and train hard to perfect her skill, in the hope that she will one day graduate and be chosen by a wealthy patron....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I have really enjoyed this novel.

  • By Justine Connor on 25-10-2018

I have really enjoyed this novel.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-10-2018

Would like to read more like it. Quality narration made the characters come to life!

  • Heart of Mist

  • By: Helen Scheuerer
  • Narrated by: Angele Masters
  • Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18

Still grieving the death of her guardian and dangerously self-medicating with alcohol, Bleak is snatched from her home by the Commander of the King's Army and summoned to the capital. But the king isn't the only one interested in Bleak's powers. The leader of an infamous society of warriors, the Valia Kindred, lays claim to her as well, and Bleak finds herself in the middle of a much bigger battle than she anticipated.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great read!

  • By Justine Connor on 22-06-2018

great read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-06-2018

Nest story I have listened to in ages. Brilliant original storyline. I would watch a movie based on this...it is that good!!

  • Red Sparrow

  • By: Jason Matthews
  • Narrated by: Jeremy Bobb
  • Length: 17 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 698
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 646
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 648

A Russian honey trap agent targets a young CIA operative to uncover a mole at the Russian Intelligence service. Dominika Egorov, is sucked into the heart of Putin's Russia, and spat out as the twists and turns of betrayal and counter-betrayal unravel. American Nate Nash handles the double agent, codenamed MARBLE, considered one of CIA's biggest assets. Will Dominika be able to unmask MARBLE, or will the mission see her faith destroyed in the country she has always passionately defended?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Action-packed!

  • By Mary-Alice on 24-10-2015

fantastic...best novel I have bought so far.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-05-2018

worth every cent. great narrator for a riviting story. will now watch the movie !

  • Duke of My Heart

  • By: Kelly Bowen
  • Narrated by: Ashford McNab
  • Length: 9 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 14

Captain Maximus Harcourt, the unconventional tenth Duke of Alderidge, can deal with tropical storms, raging seas, and the fiercest of pirates. But he's returned home from his latest voyage to find a naked earl - quite inconveniently deceased - tied to his missing sister's bed. And he has only one place to turn. Now he's at the mercy of the captivating Miss Ivory Moore of Chegarre & Associates, known throughout London for smoothing over the most dire of scandals.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent listening

  • By Justine Connor on 28-03-2016

Excellent listening

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-03-2016

This story has romance, intrigue and humor... one of the better books I have listened to lately!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • In the Garden of Deceit

  • The Garden Series, Book 4
  • By: Cynthia Wicklund
  • Narrated by: Tanya S. Bartlett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 2

Simon Fitzgerald's nephew James Tremont is in a predicament. He's inherited a run-down estate, a house full of eccentric relatives who are depending on him for support, and a bank account that has plunged into the red. The answer to his financial woes arrives in the oh-so-common person of Archie Campbell, a wealthy man who wants to give James a helping hand. But Archie's money comes with a stipulation. James must marry Archie's daughter Amanda, and he must do so without letting the young lady know she is entering into an arranged marriage.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Nice final story of the series

  • By Justine Connor on 19-03-2016

Nice final story of the series

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-03-2016

I listened to this book as it was the last in the series but really struggled with the narrator. Her mispronounciation was so frustrating in this book and the previous in the series.

  • Tuesday Nights

  • The Sons of the Aristocracy, Book 1
  • By: Linda Rae Sande
  • Narrated by: Scott Richard Ehredt
  • Length: 14 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    1.5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    1.5 out of 5 stars 2

A viscount's son and a bare knuckle boxer, Michael Cunningham is more interested in building his fortune than spending time at the Marriage Mart. But long ago, he promised his mother he would get married "if not before, then on the eve of my 28th birthday."

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Unable to listen to the complete story

  • By Justine Connor on 30-11-2015

Unable to listen to the complete story

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-11-2015

What disappointed you about Tuesday Nights?

The narrator was too difficult to listen to.

What will your next listen be?

I will actively avoid narrations by this narrator

Would you be willing to try another one of Scott Richard Ehredt’s performances?

No

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Tuesday Nights?

I feel a bit dejected as I would have liked to listen to the whole story but could not continue as the narration was driving me mad, so unfortunately I cannot comment on the rest of the book at this stage.

Any additional comments?

Feel like I wasted my money.

  • The Prize

  • By: Julie Garwood
  • Narrated by: Anne Flosnik
  • Length: 12 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14

In the resplendence of William the Conqueror's London court, the lovely Saxon captive, Nicholaa was forced to choose a husband from the assembled Norman nobles. She chose Royce, a baron warrior whose fierce demeanor could not conceal his chivalrous and tender heart. Resourceful, rebellious and utterly naive, Nicholaa vowed to bend Royce to her will, despite the whirlwind of feelings he aroused in her.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Well worth it

  • By Anonymous User on 21-12-2018

worth listening to!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-10-2015

I enjoyed this book more than I thpught I would. The main heroine was funny and yet complex. The hero easy to love.