LISTENER

Lynn A Brake

  • 2
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 9
  • ratings
  • Past the Shallows

  • By: Favel Parrett
  • Narrated by: David Wenham
  • Length: 4 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 83
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79

Past the Shallows is the award-winning, best-selling debut novel from Favel Parrett about the bonds of brotherhood and the fragility of youth, narrated by David Wenham. Everyone loves Harry. Everyone except his father. Three brothers - Joe, Miles and Harry - are growing up on the remote south coast of Tasmania. The brothers' lives are shaped by their father's moods - like the ocean he fishes, he is wild and unpredictable. He is a bitter man warped by a devastating secret.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Heartbreaking, honest and brutal and real.

  • By Carol @readingwritingandriesling on 24-04-2016

great story of tough lovr

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-01-2019

very interesting nd entertaining story. however I found that it became too vague and uncredable toward the end.

  • Elmet

  • By: Fiona Mozley
  • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett-Ryan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Compelling story very well written and Narrated

  • By Lynn A Brake on 19-12-2018

Compelling story very well written and Narrated

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-12-2018

This book will challenge your conception of justice, class, love and family. The author use first person narrstive effectively to weave an enthralling tale